Everything's More Fun In Pigtails!
2005-12-18 || Gay Parties Are The BESTKind

Awe. Some.

Lucy and I are still recovering from attending one of the best parties ever last night. I recently found out that my mom's cousin's son is pretty much the male me. I only see him once a year at a holiday party and don't usually get to talk to him much, so I didn't know this before. Over the summer, he learned that I do plays and we started e-mailing about them and other things. Turns out he plays the Survivor home game with his friends and is just as addicted to Karaoke Revolution as we are. And bless him, he came to my play over the summer and picked up on every single pop culture reference in my script, even if he was the only one who got some of them. God love him. Anyway, he invited me to a holiday party last night that he and his partner were having, the First Annual Friends BirthanksChrismukkah bash. Since I knew I'd only know the host, I brought Lucy along because I knew she'd have a good time. And oh, what a good time we did have. So good, in fact, that the party started at 5PM and we got home at 3AM.

So what made it so great?

Well, first of all, most of the guests at the party were some of the most fabulous gay men I've ever met. Tying in to that fact, the food spread was fantastic - regular food, exotic food, sushi, homemade pretzels and ornately decorated cupcakes, brownies so good that I ate 6 of them, 3 tubs full of frozen drink delights, etc. It was all too much and all so good. And the house was AMAZING in terms of decorations - it's like my Sims house jumped off the screen and became real, except my Sims house would be put to shame. There were 2 full-size Christmas trees, one red and gold and quite beautiful, and one full of all the pop culture ornaments. Oh, and the Muppet office! My...whatever cousin he is (2nd once removed? Twice removed? 3rd cousin? I think that's it.) oh, who knows - we'll just call him Kevin, has every Muppet bust and action figure ever made all on shelves in his office. I fell to my knees in unworthiness upon entering. The downstairs bathroom even had a urinal in it. [During the night, two girls actually used it - I'm still trying to figure that one out.] Ther whole place was just aesthetically-pleasing overload. I want to move in there, like yesterday.

Anyway, so aside from the phenomenal decorations and the delicious food and drinks, there were the activities. First, we played the new Apprentice game that you hook up to your TV. It's really fun, and we need to buy it now. You can be any character from the first 3 seasons, and it's sort of a general trivia game. When your team loses the round, they go to the boardroom and pick who they think should go. And Trump sneaks in every now and then with the random double-firing. I was Bill and ended up making it to the final two, where I lost by one point. So sad! Then we moved on to the Shout About! games. I'd never played them, but they were so fun. We played the TV and music versions and it was complete mayhem. "MONK!! I'm telling you it's MONK!" After that, there was a short round of Karaoke Revolution while we waited for the final guests to arrive so we could start the Worst Gift Exchange.

Oh, the Worst Gift Exchange. This may have been the best part of the night. The rules were simple: Find the oddest, worst, "wrongest" gift under $10 and wrap it up and bring it with you. We played it as a Yankee Swap ("I'll take the iPod!") and the winner of the worst gift won a calendar featuring the top drag queens of RI. In terms of our gifts, I brought a sock monkey dressed as Jesus, which is just about 87 kinds of wrong, and Lucy brought a bag of circus peanuts and firming gel that is made for "enhancing your bustline." The rest of the gifts certainly did not disappoint. Some of the selections were: a plunger, a statue of a black bear who is wearing a bandanna and cowboy hat, a selection of canned meats, a six-pack of O'Douls, a seat cover with a picture of a howling wolf on it, underwear from the dollar store, a calendar full of painted cats, and a book about Family Fun in Utah. Lucy ended up with this giant gold lame hat with a flower applique/tulle ribbon on it that was about twice the size of my head. I got a calendar of fishing posters along with one of those wooden and canvas clown cone puppets. I loved it. The best "worst" gift came courtesy of Kevin, who bought what Lucy described as "Vegas Mary." It was this gaudy bright framed picture of The Virgin Mary that lit up with rainbow chasing lights. Surprisingly, everyone wanted that thing. It was hideous, yet awesome. We were transfixed!

After the gift exchange, some of us played a game called 'Pick-Up Lines' where you finish a pick-up line given on a card, and then everyone passes them around randomly and you all have to read them in your best pick-up line voice. The one that is voted the best gets points for both the writer and the reader. It was hilarious and just got dirtier and more inappropriate as it went on. "If you came with a warning label, what would it say?": 'Baby on board.' 'Contents plump when cooked.' I believe the winning line in the final sudden death round was this answer to "If you were to write the love story of you and me, how would it end?": 'With a round of penicillin and a lice comb. Thanks a lot.' So much fun.

After that, we played some more Karaoke Revolution and then watched parts of a bootleg download of Wicked!, during which Lucy's new gay boyfriend serenaded her as he danced her all around the room. The whole night was completely awesome. It ended with a bunch of us just hanging out and watching clips of funny things that were saved on their DVR (which was also awesomely full of episodes of Martha and Project Runway), such as clips from SNL and The Brini Maxwell Show. Sadly, Lucy and I didn't ever want to go home, but we finally had to. We can't wait to hang out with them all again. Kevin is thinking of planning his own local Amazing Race one night, and I've got just one thing to say about that - I'd better get on the treadmill. In the meantime, I'll be shopping for a Vegas Mary.

before & after





2007-09-26 - Follow Me!
2006-09-30 - Site Move & Favorite Entries
2006-09-25 - Evil Easter Bunnies & Rock Climbing!
2006-09-22 - Shameful-Purchase Hiding & A New Dentist Plan
2006-09-19 - Birthday Picture/Video Diary & The Wheelmobile


Powered by blogtools.org


Copyright 2003-2006 by Sockgirlie. Stealing is wrong.


journal

info

contact

credits

linkytown