Everything's More Fun In Pigtails!
2006-04-18 || Horrifying Home Video Discoveries

Ahhhhhh....

That�s me breathing a sigh of relief now that the play is done.

It went well, and it�s a REALLY good thing that I don�t stress over much considering the fact that: A) Lucy, who is one of the main singers in the show, called me on Tuesday with laryngitis, B) I accidentally dropped $80 worth of the charity money on a diner floor the day of the show, C) The host of the �show� in the play threw his back out and was hopped up on painkillers all day, and several other things that I don�t even remember because it was a whirlwind day. The bottom line is that Lucy had her voice, I got the money back, the host was okay for the show, and we all had fun and did a great job. My favorite story from the night came courtesy of my brother, who played the Simon Cowell-like character. An audience member who clearly didn�t get the show came up to him at intermission and angrily asked him how he slept at night and if he was always that miserable. Hee! She was truly offended by him, which I find to be awesome. Unfortunately, amid all of the hoopla, I forgot to turn on my video camera to record the show, so I have no idea how it looked, since I was backstage most of the time, but I hear all went well. Yay! Now it�s time to plan the Christmas show....

*******************************

In other news, I spent part of Sunday night transferring some of our old home videos to DVD. I was telling Lucy about it yesterday and we were laughing about some of the things that I unearthed. Lucy came over last night and we watched one movie that we made during college that I was transferring, and then something very, very bad happened. The short movie ended and as the DVD recorder was stopping and updating, the tape kept playing and the older video that had been taped over by the one in college started playing. At first, Lucy and I had out heads tipped a la Forrest Gump, all trying to figure out what we were watching. Then, the picture became clear and we both froze with looks of abject horror on our faces. We had uncovered a video from 1990 that we had made with the purpose of sending it to the New Kids on the Block. (Sadly, we made more that one of these. Thankfully, we never sent them.) We sat there, alternating between covering our mouths in horror, screaming in terror, and laughing.

LUCY: I�m wearing shorts and tights.

PAM: Who are these people? Why do I have that accent?

LUCY: Why is your voice so high? And where did you get that accent?

PAM: Are my pants pegged?

LUCY: Oh my God, I have braces. I think if you look up �awkward� in the dictionary, you�ll see a picture of me from this day.

PAM: Why are we just standing there, talking incessantly? What are we even talking about? Wait, I just referred to a specific date as the �day after Donnie�s birthday.� WE SPOKE IN TERMS OF THEIR BIRTHDAYS??

LUCY: Did we just list their family members? THIS IS WHY WE HAVE A �VAULT.�

PAM: I have no recollection of making this at all.

LUCY: I think we�ve blocked it out of our memories.

PAM: We were going to send this to them? What was wrong with us? And why am I still talking? Not only is this lame, but it�s boring. Oh wait, oh no � I think we�re going to sing.

LUCY: No....

It was at this point in the video that Hangin� Tough started up, and Lucy and I started �dancing� and singing along.

PAM: ....

LUCY: ....

PAM: I....

LUCY: Why....

PAM: I should never dance. What am I doing? Oh no, we�re going to....

LUCY: What?

PAM: �Just get on the floor and do the New Kids dance!�

LUCY: ...and there it is.

PAM: Why am I wearing a sideways baseball hat?

LUCY: Look at me! I�m wearing brown shorts, white tights, black dress shoes with BOWS on them and a peach puffy-shouldered cardigan.

PAM: With pearl buttons.

LUCY: Oh my God.

PAM: You know, someone was asking me the other day why the two of us didn�t date much in high school. I think this video could be labeled �Exhibit A.�

LUCY: Make it stop! What are we doing now?

PAM: I believe I�m going to sing a Tiffany song to you to comfort you.

LUCY: We need to buy an actual vault.

PAM: Seriously.


After that video (thankfully) ended, Lucy and I started talking about a moment from another one, and I devilishly said, �I know exactly where that one is,� and I grabbed it and popped it in. The regret set in as soon as I pushed �play,� for I only remembered the 2 moments we were joking about and had no memory of the rest of the horror that existed on the tape.

PAM: We�re wearing the same shirt.

LUCY: We bought those shirts because Jordan had one.

PAM: Why do we have the same hairdo?

LUCY: Oh my God, we do. Check out the pegs on my pants. They were seriously pegged.

PAM: Am I wearing Tretorns?

LUCY: I believe you are. I love your jeans.

PAM: They�re up to my chin. Mom Jeans!

LUCY: What are we doing?

PAM: Oh no, I think we�re going to dance again.

LUCY: Oh, please no.

PAM & LUCY: AAAGGGHHHH!!!

PAM�S DAD: What are you guys yelling and laughing about?

PAM: Come look at this!

DAD: Who�s that?

LUCY: US!

DAD: What??!!

PAM: I can�t take anymore!

LUCY: Why is your voice so high?

PAM: Listen to yours!

LUCY: Who are these people???


At this point, I fast-forwarded to our last �number� in the video (and the part we remembered), which was a performance to go with the New Kids song No More Games. In the middle of the song, I go off camera to don a baseball hat, jean jacket and hood to get into character for Donnie Wahlberg�s rap in the middle of the song. Oh yes.

PAM: Oh my GOD.

LUCY: HA!

PAM: What are you laughing at? You�re about to whip that leather jacket off and do a big dance number.

LUCY: Oh NO, that�s right!

PAM: This is ridiculous.

LUCY: BURN THIS!


Finally, the video was over, but once again, there was a hidden treasure unearthed after it. It was�I don�t even know what to say. I have no memory of this whatsoever, but apparently I decided to make a video one night of me just sitting in front of the camera, singing along to some tapes. Oh, and I wasn�t just singing (horribly), I was feeling the songs. It was HORRIFYING.

PAM: What is this? What am I doing?

LUCY: Is this Mariah? HA! Look at your face! You�re so into it! You really don�t want to cry.

PAM: This is...I don�t remember doing this. Why am I wearing my brother�s sweater?

LUCY: Nice perm. Ooh, there you go with the gestures.

PAM: I�m singing right into the camera like Constantine.

LUCY: Oh my God, 16 year-old Pam giving �F Me� eyes to the camera. This is classic.

PAM: This is one of those videos that would circulate on the Internet. I�M THE STAR WARS KID!

LUCY: Totally. I love your giant cassette player stereo.

PAM: Oh no, now I�m moving onto Whitney. Look at the faces!

LUCY: You are FEELing the song.

PAM: I�m feeling sick just watching this.

At that point, I had to turn the tape off in horror, but just knowing that exists is going to keep me up at night. I wonder where I can rent an incinerator. Also, why am I single again?


Random Moment of the Day: Yesterday, I was on the phone with Eric when Lucy came over, and I heard my mom tell her that she didn�t know who I was talking to, but I�d been blabbing and laughing for a while. As soon as she said that, I was saying to Eric, �Well, if you bring your habit with you,� and Lucy just started laughing, saying, �I know who she�s talking to now.� Hee!

Picture of the Day: I love this picture. Me and Frito, post-play.

Seriously, we�re related? You�d never know.


before & after





2007-09-26 - Follow Me!
2006-09-30 - Site Move & Favorite Entries
2006-09-25 - Evil Easter Bunnies & Rock Climbing!
2006-09-22 - Shameful-Purchase Hiding & A New Dentist Plan
2006-09-19 - Birthday Picture/Video Diary & The Wheelmobile


Powered by blogtools.org


Copyright 2003-2006 by Sockgirlie. Stealing is wrong.


journal

info

contact

credits

linkytown