Everything's More Fun In Pigtails!
2006-06-05 || Differential Diagnosis, People!

Oh, the wondrous power of that lovable curmudgeon.

It�s time to talk about House, people. I know I am long overdue in talking about it, but there are valid excuses (I didn�t tune in until the 2nd season because there were previously too many other shows on opposite it, I was er, washing my hair, aliens took me). However, after witnessing a rare event last night that was brought on by the House, it is time to scold those who, like me a few months ago, had not discovered this treasure yet.

Sure, I knew about it and always wanted to watch it, but it wasn�t until The Amazing Race switched time slots mid-season and Veronica Mars got shuttled (albeit temporarily) to Wednesdays that I finally had time to watch House. So watch I did. I was hooked after one episode. After the second one, I hastily went out and got the first season on DVD, which I have been slowly making my way through. I�ve been trying to savor it and make it last longer, but it is proving to be difficult. I think I�m only left with 5 episodes, so that plan didn�t exactly carry me through the summer. No matter, though, because House has done something else: it has hooked my mom.

Let me explain something here about my mother: she is the bomb diggity, but in terms of TV watching, she is close to the opposite of me. I don�t think she has sat down to just plain watch TV since Remington Steele ended its run. Well, maybe some Seinfeld here and there, but she doesn�t just watch TV. She�ll half-watch a lot of stuff while she is doing other things, but she never turns it on to specifically watch TV. A lot of times, she�s in the room while someone else is watching TV, so she�ll do her half-watching thing while she reads or does a crossword. She�s actually seen a wide variety of shows over the years that she would have never watched thanks to my brother and I. (My favorite example of this: If we�re ever discussing How I Met Your Mother, my mom refers to Alyson Hannigan as �Willow.� Awesome.) But my mother will also most times half-watch a show and then go upstairs to do something else and miss the end of it. Of course, to me this is unfathomable, but like I said, we are quite different when it comes to the TV. (Seriously, though � she�ll watch Survivor and then go upstairs before Tribal Council. What??!!) The past 2 seasons I�ve kind of roped her into watching Top Model when she�s home, but then again she hasn�t seen the finale of the last 2 seasons. I�don�t understand.

Anyway, so that�s how my mother rolls. This is why I was shocked last night when she uttered some words that I don�t think I�ve ever heard from her. Like I said, I�ve been watching old House episodes lately, and she was doing her half-watching thing the other night while I watched two of them. She was in and out, and missed the final diagnosis of the first episode, so she was doing her normal TV thing. However, she was there for the end of the second episode, when House was being told that he had to fire one member of his team. Her curiosity seemed piqued, but she still didn�t exhibit too much excitement. Enter last night. I settled in to watch another episode, and my mom was there, but I noticed something � she kept commenting throughout the episode. I looked up at one point and realized that she was watching the whole thing, with no other activities keeping her busy. Then, however, she started dissing my Chase after we found out that he�d been tattling on House to the higher-ups.

MOM: Oh, I�ve never liked him.

PAM: What? He�s so hot.

MOM: No, I haven�t liked him from the start, even before he started doing this.

PAM: But look at him!

MOM: He�s a fink!

PAM: A what?

MOM: A fink, you know � a tattle-tale.

PAM: I know what a fink is, I just didn�t realize anyone still used that word outside of screwball comedies from the 40�s and Scooby Doo cartoons.

MOM: Well, they do, and that�s what he is.

I love it. Anyway, the episode ended with one of the smallest cliffhangers ever, but the power of The House prompted my mom to say those words that shocked me so: �Well, now we have to watch the next one.�

Wait, what?? The Moms is asking to voluntarily watch a second episode of a TV show after she�s just watched a whole one? And back-to-back? My mother hates going to the movies because she hates to �sit there for 2 hours when I could be doing other things. What a waste.� Yet, here she was, asking to watch something. It was unreal. So we watched it. Halfway through, my dad sauntered in and sat down and became immediately glued. He also earned a shushing from my mother when he tried to talk during key scenes. Asking to watch more TV and then shushing people during the show? Who was this woman and what has she done with my mother?? Although, to be fair, my father was demonstrating some of his standard �Lord Obvious� behavior. �Is that guy the doctor?� �Yes.� �Boy, he�s a mean sucker, huh?� (I have to remember to try to get my dad to watch the MTV Movie Awards with me on Thursday, if only to see if he can top his, �Who�s that?� �Ashlee Simpson.� �She�s a beast!� hilarity again.)

The point is - House is magic! Well, not really. But it is a REALLY good show that you should REALLY watch (Season 2 will be shown in its entirety this summer, with back-to-back double episodes every Tuesday from 8-10). It�s got the awesome Hugh Laurie! And hot Aussies! And Greg Grunberg in a non-J.J. Abrams show guest appearance! And lepers! Lisa Edelstein (who will forever be endeared to me along with Adam Goldberg for starring in the awesome cancelled-before-its-time Relativity)! Did I mention the hot Aussies?! And hermaphrodites!! And...just watch. (Mad props to my friend LV, who put up with me borrowing his can to do my House impression. "Differential diagnosis, people!") Watch!!!

If not me, then listen to my mother. She is a wise woman.


The �Does This Mean I�m 12 If I Like This Show?� Confession of the Day: I watched a few episodes of Jamie Kennedy�s Blowin� Up! on MTV over the weekend, and I found myself laughing my head off. This could be for many reasons: A) I�m 12. B) I love Jamie Kennedy more than I should because of his long-running Celebrity Boyfriend status with me (I watched Sparkler for him, people. Sparkler. What�s that, you say? Let me just say this: The top-billed star of it was Park Overall. PARK OVERALL.). Although he�s not high enough on the Celebrity Boyfriend totem pole for me to have watched even one episode of The Jamie Kennedy Experiment (Don't tell anyone, but I don't like hidden camera shows!), I do enjoy the boy. C) The show is legitimately funny. (Watch the �Rollin� With Saget� video on his MySpace page. Funny, no?) I�m going with �C,� although I wouldn�t rule out �A� just yet.


before & after





2007-09-26 - Follow Me!
2006-09-30 - Site Move & Favorite Entries
2006-09-25 - Evil Easter Bunnies & Rock Climbing!
2006-09-22 - Shameful-Purchase Hiding & A New Dentist Plan
2006-09-19 - Birthday Picture/Video Diary & The Wheelmobile


Powered by blogtools.org


Copyright 2003-2006 by Sockgirlie. Stealing is wrong.


journal

info

contact

credits

linkytown