Everything's More Fun In Pigtails!
2004-10-04 || My College Bar No More

I know this entry was supposed to be the promised 'Poppa Pie' entry, but the next one will be. As randommuse requested, I was able to get some video footage of the Worst Public Access Show Ever over the weekend, so when I can get to uploading some footage and screen captures, I will write a proper entry about it all. After all, Poppa Pie deserves that much. He really�there are no words. So I'll just leave it at that and get to today's entry. Shall we?

Driving home from play rehearsal yesterday (where I had to fire 2 people from the show - oy) I heard a commercial on the radio for a local bar that I had never heard of. The commercial then went on to explain that it was formerly another bar, and the �formerly� name made me feel both sad and old. For now, the ol' college bar hangout is no more. I know I'm 30 now and all, but still. So sad. The baton is being passed to a new generation of kiddies, and apparently, they don't have the same taste in bars and clubs as we did. I actually saw this coming over the years, as the bar has tried to change to keep up with the times. It's never quite been the same as it was when I was in college. I was never a big club person to begin with, probably because dancing is NOT my strongest forte, but I would go every now and then. I had a few friends who were in bands, so most of my college club-going involved going to see live music, but once in a while the girls and I would throw on our best little numbers and head out to our favorite club on a Saturday night. We went on Saturday nights because ladies got in free, and mostly because it was 80�s night. You just can�t beat getting down to some Pump Up The Volume.

Some of my favorite moments of our Saturday nights at the bar happened early on in the evening. We�d get there a little early to get some prime parking and then head up into the game room. The bar was set up into two rooms � the dance/bar room and the game room. The game room was full of pool tables and a ping pong table, the latter of which delighted me to no end. But the best part of the game room was the slalom skiing game on the other side. It sat in front of the Most. Comfortable. Couch. Ever. My friends and I would sink into the couch and just wait. Before long, groups of boys would come around to play the skiing game and we would just watch them and laugh our asses off. The determined looks on these guys� faces while they were flailing around on the makeshift skis were priceless. And no matter what, they all sucked at the game. But they�d get all into it, trashing each other and hooting and hollering. Some guys would even crouch down while they were �skiing,� all trying to look cool. Meanwhile, they looked like a bunch of idiots. The night we showed up to the bar after being away for a few months and found the couch, the skiing game, and the ping pong table gone was a sad night in Pamville. At one point a few years ago, we went to the bar for the first time in a long time and half of the pool tables were missing from the game room, replaced with a makeshift dance floor and a DJ that played house music. It was all so very wrong. The game room was where you escaped to get rid of the crowds and the loud music. This was blasphemy!!!!

Back in the heyday of going to the club, though, we would spend the second half of the night in the dancing room, getting down to the 80�s tunes. No matter what, I always made everyone dance to Rock Me Amadeus. Oh, and my friends still will not let me forget the night Hungry Like The Wolf came on early when the dance floor was still pretty empty. I still have no idea why, but we all started dancing like fools to it, and I believe it ended up with me clawing up against the wall of the dance floor and then lurching down and pounding on the floor. But you see, I was HUNGRY! Like the wolf!!! Many a time was also spent standing up on the two speakers on the dance floor and getting down. I don�t care where I am � if there is some sort of raised object that I can get up and dance on, I am on it. Just ask the people at the furniture store. One of my shyer friends lost a bet with me once and her payment was having to get up and dance on one of the speakers with me for 45 seconds. She was embarrassed at first, but once she got up there, she stayed even longer. I�m telling you, try it. This �shy� girl started busting out the cabbage patch and making ridiculous faces. Because if you�re not going to get up there and dance like an idiot, it�s just not worth it. I think I may have flashed my sequined bra to the dance floor one night. No, wait. That was at another club where I was unaware that there was a camera that captured the speaker dancers and broadcast it on TVs all around the whole place, with at least 2 TVs at 3 different bars. Yeah, great times on that one. Someone could have given me the heads up beforehand. Oh, who am I kidding? I flash everyone. Moving on�.

ANYway � I think hearing the announcement about the bar yesterday just made me a little sad and nostalgic. I haven�t been there in about a year and a half, and before that even longer, but I think there was still comfort in knowing that it was there and I could go there any Saturday night and relive the memories. Now it�s going to create new memories for a whole new crop of young ones. They probably wouldn�t even know half of the songs if the bar had an 80�s night, which saddens me even more. Who will shake their rumps to Tone Loc�s Wild Thing? But hey, my time has passed now, and so I pass on the baton. But feet off the speakers, bitches � those are all mine.


**************************************

P.S. You can now also get to my diary through www.sockgirlie.com if you're lazy like me. Lazy rules.



before & after





2007-09-26 - Follow Me!
2006-09-30 - Site Move & Favorite Entries
2006-09-25 - Evil Easter Bunnies & Rock Climbing!
2006-09-22 - Shameful-Purchase Hiding & A New Dentist Plan
2006-09-19 - Birthday Picture/Video Diary & The Wheelmobile


Powered by blogtools.org


Copyright 2003-2006 by Sockgirlie. Stealing is wrong.


journal

info

contact

credits

linkytown