Everything's More Fun In Pigtails!
2005-03-29 || Richard Marx's Greatest Hits = Love!

Today I was reminded of an e-mail exchange I had a few weeks ago with Purple after my entry proclaiming my unabashed love for Olivia Newton John. Miss Purple commented about her secret shame of being a lover of Richard Marx. I was very proud to tell her that I share her love of the Marxman, but mine is shameless. For his Greatest Hits CD is a work of beauty, people. (And have you seen him lately? Dayam! Time has been quite kind to him. Of course, he is also demulleted and seems to be fond of the tight t-shirt, which I have to agree highly with. Did I mention damn? Because, damn.) Anyhoo, I wasn�t a big Marxer back in his heyday. I liked his songs enough, but I never had any of his albums. Then, one day a few years ago I was reminded of two of his songs and picked up his Greatest Hits CD on a whim. Well, and also because it was $5 on eBay. But seriously, the CD kicks so much ass. I was listening to it today and was just sitting at my desk and rocking out. I�ve shared it with others and have given them all a newfound love for the Richard Marx. Lucy has forgotten how many good songs he made, which was the same thing that I found when I got the CD. Don�t believe us? Here�s the track listing:

1. Don�t Mean Nothin� - His first single and my personal favorite Richard Marx song. Also the one that made me buy this CD is the first place. I MUST sing this at karaoke.

2. Endless Summer Nights - I�ve found that mentioning this song to most of my girlfriends will elicit this reaction: �Oooooh!!! I looove this song! Awww!� Yeah.

3. Now And Forever - The King of the power ballads.

4. Should�ve Known Better - Also? The King of power pop. Now I want to sing THIS at karaoke because I love the verses so much. �Another sleepless night I can�t explain/Somebody said they heard me call your name�� Awesome.

5. Angelia - People loooved this song, but it�s actually not that high on my list of favorites. A little boring, but still good. When this is one of your weaker songs, you are in awful good shape.

6. Hold On to the Nights - My favorite Marx ballad, most recently seen being butchered by one blond-headed Ukrainian treach-bot on American Idol. Everyone is always so ga-ga over Right Here Waiting that they forget about this song, which is sweeter and better by far. Awww!

7. Angel�s Lullaby - Written for his children, so I can�t really say too much about it. It�s a new song for this album and one of the two that I skip on occasion on days when I don�t want a toothache.

8. Take This Heart - It�s okay if you don�t remember this one. Neither do I. Thrown into hiding in the middle of the CD, this is the other track that I skip on occasion. Just very non-descript. There are MUCH better songs done this same way, like the following track�.

9. Satisfied - Hell, yeah. I remember not hearing from Mr. Marx for a while and then this song came out and kicked my ass. Love it.

10. Until I Find You Again - More proof of his King of the power ballad status. Diane Warren, eat your heart out.

11. Hazard - Okay, I don�t even know to begin with this one, except to say that this song RULES. Do you remember this? Most people forget until they hear it again, and they�re all, �YES!!!� You know this one � the haunting song about Mary dying and �I swear I left her by the river, I swear I left her safe and sound�.� My favorite line is at the beginning about the people in town with prejudiced eyes proclaiming, �That boy�s not right�.� Don�t Mean Nothin� may be my personal favorite Richard Marx song to sing along and rock out to, but Hazard is his greatest song without question. C�mon, download it � you won�t be sorry.

12. Way She Loves Me - I had completely forgotten about this fun little song until I picked up the Greatest Hits. Boppy and bluesy.

13. Keep Coming Back - Also on my list of Songs I Had Completely Forgotten About until I started listening to it again years later and immediately started singing along with the Marx rasp, pleading, �I don�t want to get over you�I don�t know why�I�keep coming back to youuuuu.� Bonus points for Luther!

14. Children of the Night - The obligatory social commentary/children�s choir as background song. The message of this one? Hope for the forgotten and down-trodden kiddies!

15. Touch of Heaven - Marx goes for The Sexy. Personally, the growl and rasp work better for me on the rockers.

16. Right Here Waiting - The Consummate Wedding Song of its day, even if it was woefully overplayed at the height of its popularity. This is pretty much the Grand Poobah of Richard Marx songs, and thought of as his greatest ballad, although many disagree (See #6). Still, a sweet and pretty song that every girl secretly wants someone to sing to her.


So there you have it. My love of Richard Marx exposed for all to see! But seriously, this CD does not leave my 20-disc carrying case. It�s a keeper. Maybe next time I�ll expound upon the awesomeness of Rick Springfield�s Greatest Hits. Oh, Don�t Talk to Strangers, how I love you so!


before & after





2007-09-26 - Follow Me!
2006-09-30 - Site Move & Favorite Entries
2006-09-25 - Evil Easter Bunnies & Rock Climbing!
2006-09-22 - Shameful-Purchase Hiding & A New Dentist Plan
2006-09-19 - Birthday Picture/Video Diary & The Wheelmobile


Powered by blogtools.org


Copyright 2003-2006 by Sockgirlie. Stealing is wrong.


journal

info

contact

credits

linkytown