Everything's More Fun In Pigtails!
2004-05-26 || I've Got The Music In Me....

Ooh, music! One of my favorite things. I got this from Jessica. I think I know who'll be doing it next...Shelly? (My music-trading buddy!) Shall we?

1. Your favorite song with the name of a city in the title or text.
On a Bus To St. Cloud, by Trisha Yearwood. Soooo good. I've actually teared up hearing her do it live. Yes, I'm a complete wussypants.

2. A song you've listened to repeatedly when you were depressed at some point in your life.
Oh man, this is so shameful and cheesy. When The Boy and I broke up, I used to cry while listening to If You're Not The One by Daniel Bedingfield. When I was trying to get out of my funk a few months later, I found great comfort and strength in Allison Moorer's It's Time I Tried.

3. Ever bought an entire album just for one song and winded up disliking everything but that song? Gimme that song.
Wrong Impression, by Natalie Imbruglia. I absolutely LOVE her first CD, but the second was boring except for that one hit. I can also do this question one better - I've bought albums because I like the artist and wound up not liking any of the songs. Case in point: '3 Car Garage,' by my boys Hanson. I call it '3 Car Garbage.'

4. A song whose lyrics you thought you knew in the past, but about which you later learned you were incorrect.
Physical, by Olivia Newton-John. So young and naive was I. I don't know what I thought she was saying, but I know it wasn't talking about anything "horizontally."

5. Your least favorite song on one of your favorite albums of all time.
Most of my favorite albums really don't have too many clunkers. However, this one does come to mind: Lucy, from Hanson's 'Middle of Nowhere.' Utterly unlistenable.

6. A song you like by someone you find physically unattractive or otherwise repellent.
The Dope Show, Marilyn Manson

7. Your favorite song that has expletives in it that's not by Liz Phair.
Boy, this is a hard one. I have so many. Since it indicates a plural on the expletives, I'll go with either Lose Yourself by Eminem or Gz and Hustlas from Snoop.

8. A song that sounds as if it's by someone British but isn't.
Anything by Green Day or Madonna: The Later Years. Pick one.

9. A song you like (possibly from your past) that took you forever to finally locate a copy of.
Come Home, by Debbie Gibson. It's on the Wonder Years Soundtrack.

10. A song that reminds you of spring but doesn't mention spring at all.
Summertime, by DJ Jazzy Jeff and the Fresh Prince. I know, I know - it's a summer song, but it reminds me of that first warm day of spring where I just want to cruise around with my sunroof open and the tunes blaring.

11. A song that sounds to you like being happy feels.
Leo Sayer, You Make Me Feel Like Dancing and Jennifer Day, The Fun of Your Love

12. Your favorite song from a non-soundtrack compilation album.
Jill Phillips, Love is Relentless from The Mercy Project album.

13. A song from your past that would be considered politically incorrect now (and possibly was then).
Hmmm. Cusswords, by Too Short. He insults a number of groups and people in that one, but I still have to shamefully admit that the Nancy Reagan part still cracks me up to no end. Yes, I'm 12.

14. A song sung by an overweight person.
What?? Well, I'll have to pull out the song that Lucy and I are well-known for at various karaoke places - It's Raining Men.

15. A song you actually like by an artist you otherwise hate.
Chattahoochee, by Alan Jackson.

16. A song by a band (whose members actually play instruments) that features three or more female members.
Hazy Shade Of Winter, from The Bangles.

17. One of the earliest songs that you can remember listening to.
Oh my God, shame time again. I've Never Been To Me, by Charlene. I was 5 years old and singing about a hooker. Fantastic.

18. A song you've been mocked by friends for liking.
Oh man, WAY too many to choose from. I'll go with Heartbreaker by Dionne Warwick. I LOVE that song!

19. A really good cover version you think no one else has heard.
At Seventeen, Tara MacLean and Time After Time, Nichole Nordeman.

20. A song that has helped cheer you up (or empowered you somehow) after a breakup or otherwise difficult situation.
I mentioned one above, but also almost the entire 'I'm Alright' CD by Jo Dee Messina. It's helped a few of us through some break-ups. I also have a whole "Screw You" CD of them. One favorite song on there is Debbie Gibson's Dontcha Want Me Now? That's right, fool!


Co-Worker Fashion Faux Pas of the Day: A pewter-colored crushed velvet mock turtleneck.

Comments? Sign the book!



before & after





2007-09-26 - Follow Me!
2006-09-30 - Site Move & Favorite Entries
2006-09-25 - Evil Easter Bunnies & Rock Climbing!
2006-09-22 - Shameful-Purchase Hiding & A New Dentist Plan
2006-09-19 - Birthday Picture/Video Diary & The Wheelmobile


Powered by blogtools.org


Copyright 2003-2006 by Sockgirlie. Stealing is wrong.


journal

info

contact

credits

linkytown