Everything's More Fun In Pigtails!
2004-05-25 || Shopping Is Wicked Fun!

Do they sell invisible fence-type collars that would keep me out of certain stores? If not, they should. Or there really should be a sign in some stores with my picture attached, reading, �Not allowed in store without a chaperone.� Unfortunately, neither of these options is in effect at the moment, and I ventured into one of my Houses Of Weakness (H.O.W.) unattended yesterday. I needed to pick up some CD-Rs, so instead of going to one of the three electronics/computer stores in the area, I thought it might be a good idea to stop at Newbury Comics, just to see what else was around.

There really should be a �DANGER� trigger in my brain.

I had every intention of just �browsing� the rest of the stuff in the store, but that lasts for about thirty seconds until I walk in and see something that I simply MUST have. And for those of you not in the Massachusetts/Rhode Island area, Newbury Comics is a music store that also sells all kinds of pop-culture goodies. T-shirts, dolls, action figures, shoes, DVDs, magazines, books, board games, lunchboxes, etc. It�s my own personal Haven of Kitsch. And lest anyone forget that the store was founded in Boston, some of its signs claim things such as, �For a wicked good time,� and �Wicked cheap CDs.� You see, for around these parts, we are all about the �wicked.� I�ve been saying it since I was in grade school. I think it became part of our local lexicon back then. I don�t say it nearly as much anymore, but once in a while I�ll still catch myself claiming to be �wicked mad,� or some other such ridiculous thing. Isn�t that wicked awesome? I�ve been one of the lucky ones, having been able to almost get out of saying it. There are others who aren�t so lucky. Just think of Boston Rob from Survivor and you�ll see what I mean. My old boss used to say it ALL the time, and it was a little jarring for me to hear it coming out of a 47 year-old woman�s mouth. It�s basically a Gen-X word for our area, but I still think of it as a teen word - �Man, that was wicked cool.� �He was driving wicked fast!� �Ugh, that guy was wicked ugly.� �No way, he was wicked cute!�

I need to stop.

Where was I going with all of this anyway? Oh yes, the H.O.W. I was actually pretty good yesterday. I got my CD-Rs, and I didn�t buy too many other unnecessary things. I mean, EVERYONE needs a Kool-Aid Guy bobblehead, right? I mean, if people don�t have one of those, the world just won�t be right. And yes, my room needed that Pink Panther action figure to complete it. C�mon, did you see his detachable hats and accessories? What? Why are you looking at my new clown guy funny? It�s a plastic clown figurine. That�s a bomb he�s holding. Isn�t it cute? Look at his little diamond eyes! Well, I simply had to have that. Don�t you see that? Look at the clown! I HAD to have him. Without him, the Kool-Aid Guy would have no friends. See? No friends. And what good is a Kool-Aid Guy booblehead if he�s sad all the time because he doesn�t have his bomb-holding clown best friend? He�d be crying Great Bluedini tears, moaning, �Ooooh noooooooooooo.� You just can�t have that. So now he�s with his friend. Also? He�s wicked happy.

Someone call the invisible fence people. I need a collar.


Co-Worker Fashion Faux Pas of the Day: This one-piece shorts/culottes getup. It's plain and straight down the back, but the front has an attached vest with 2 lace-up things on each side, just below a string with 4 multi-colored beads on it. Pocahontas in shorts! And she's wearing it with runny nylons and open toe cork-heeled sandals. It's mind boggling.

Comments? Sign the book!



before & after





2007-09-26 - Follow Me!
2006-09-30 - Site Move & Favorite Entries
2006-09-25 - Evil Easter Bunnies & Rock Climbing!
2006-09-22 - Shameful-Purchase Hiding & A New Dentist Plan
2006-09-19 - Birthday Picture/Video Diary & The Wheelmobile


Powered by blogtools.org


Copyright 2003-2006 by Sockgirlie. Stealing is wrong.


journal

info

contact

credits

linkytown