Everything's More Fun In Pigtails!
2004-01-21 || No Ghetto Hat Or Adam Curry? Those Poor Kids!

[sniff] What has happened to today's youth? [sniff]

Ah, poor kids today. Sometimes I feel like they're so deprived. I was at my friend's house a few days ago and his daughter was telling me that she just got a fashion sketch maker toy. I got all excited, yelling, "FASHION PLATES???!!!" Alas, it was not to be. It's some newfangled tracing thing that does not hold a candle to my beloved Fashion Plates. It doesn't even come close. For those of you who may not remember Fashion Plates, (I'll forgive you if you're a boy, but if you're a girl around my age? For shame!) it was this awesome toy that let you make your own little fashion sketches. There were 3 different categories of plates - the head, the shirt/upper body, and then from the waist down. Each category had a few different plate choices that you could mix and match to make all kinds of outfits. The plates all had a raised outline of the design on them, so when you chose your combo, you placed the three plates in the holder, put a piece of paper over them, flipped down the 'holder' and then rubbed this black crayon-y thing over them. The set came with colored pencils to finish your marvelous creation. Voila, Fashion! I wasn't the biggest girlie-girl when I was younger, but for some reason, I loved, loved, loved my Fashion Plates. Well, all except for the ghetto hat woman. There was this one plate of a woman's head wearing this big obnoxious hat that just didn't fit in with most of the outfits. I hated that damn hat. I think I had a plate that sort of looked like Wonder Woman, and I used that one ALL the time. Ooh, and the tight jeans! They had the crazy seams and the whole "Nothing comes between me and my Calvins" vibe. They also looked like a yeast infection waiting to happen. Man, I loved those jeans. Ghetto hat lady never wore the jeans. She sucked. Man, I want to play with some Fashion Plates now. I wonder what ever happened to mine? Maybe they were given away to a home where someone appreciated ghetto hat lady and her foofy hat. Maybe she's even wearing jeans. I hate her.

Like I said before, poor kids today. None of them are going to grow up and have latent hostilities towards a 1X3 inch piece of plastic with a drawing of a woman in a big hat on it. See what they're missing? SEE????

The poor kids are also subjected to the grotesque monstrosity that is TRL. Man, does that show suck hard. I hadn't seen it in a while due to its tendency to make me break out in hives and/or end up rocking in the corner for an hour afterwards, murmuring, "make it stop, make it stop," but I wanted to see Jason Mraz perform last week, so I decided to temporarily lift the sanction. I knew I couldn't sit through the whole thing without jabbing something sharp in both my eye and ear, so I taped it to avoid any harm to myself. I did watch some bits and pieces of the show, and words can't even describe how bad it is. We all know the whole deal about MTV not playing videos at all, so I'm not even going to bother getting all into that whole thing. It would take too long. But still, I must make mention of one thing. TRL is a show whose very concept and purpose is to show the videos that people request all day long to see. Are these people wasting their time to see 30 seconds of a video? Luckily, I have the MTV Hits channel, where they play videos ALL day with no commercial interruption, so to this whole not-showing videos thing, I'm really kinda "Meh." But I would think that the people who do waste their time voting incessantly to see the new Britney catastrophe would want to see the whole thing. Ooh, now that I think about it, a Britney-fan riot would be pretty awesome to see. Even without Carson, the show still falls flat with its triple-team hosting. Sure, Quddus and Co. are nice to look at, but in my mind, no one will ever touch the magic that is Adam Curry and his fabulous big hair. No, wait. Scratch that one. He was a tool, too. Anyhoo, while I was suffering through my viewing, I was treated to a segment chronicling Hilary Duff's picks for the next breakout guy stars. Ooh, Hilary thinks Chad Michael Murray is going to break out?? Oh my gosh, stop the presses! Are you serious? Hilary said so? Well then, it must be true. And I must adopt it as my new credo. Because Hilary knows all. Plus, she dated Aaron Carter. [swoon!] Oh my God, I think I just made myself gag with that one. Mommy, make the shuddering stop!

Poor kids. And poor me for having to suffer through it all. Wait, I'm old enough to know better. Dammit.


Co-Worker Fashion Faux Pas of the Day: A Banana Clip.
The Dunce spent a better part of the morning crooning Unchained Melody at her desk. When she finally came around the partition, I noticed her hair swept up on the sides with the 2 combs, fastened up at the top just so. And so trendy in 1986.

Comments? Sign my guestbook.

P.S. To DiverDwn re: my last entry. Stuckeybowl is in northern New Jersey, just over the New York line.

before & after





2007-09-26 - Follow Me!
2006-09-30 - Site Move & Favorite Entries
2006-09-25 - Evil Easter Bunnies & Rock Climbing!
2006-09-22 - Shameful-Purchase Hiding & A New Dentist Plan
2006-09-19 - Birthday Picture/Video Diary & The Wheelmobile


Powered by blogtools.org


Copyright 2003-2006 by Sockgirlie. Stealing is wrong.


journal

info

contact

credits

linkytown