Everything's More Fun In Pigtails!
2005-10-26 || "Who's That? BROWN!"

Oh, what a fool I must have looked like while driving to work this morning.

I have this problem with getting up early in the morning � my body rejects such a notion. Since caffeine has no effect on me, some days I have to rely on alternative methods to give me an extra jolt of �wake up!� in the morning. Today�s weapon? Pam�s Ultimate Old School Rap Mix. I threw that CD in my stereo, pushed random and car-danced all the way to work. Oh, if it had only stopped there. Seeing that we are talking about ME here, there is no way I could end with the bouncy car-dancing. Oh no. The car dancing had to be accompanied by me singing and rapping along at the top of my lungs, complete with hand motions. Oh yes � hand motions. The hand motions mainly consist of pointing and the universal signal for �don�t go there� � just enough to entertain all of my fellow commuters on the state�s busiest highway. In my weak defense, let me direct your attention to the song list of this particular CD, and you tell me if you could resist the dancing and pointing and shouting of, �All I wanna do is zoom-a zoom-a zoom zoom and a boom boom (just shake your rump!):

Track Listing for Pam�s Ultimate Old School Rap Mix:

(There were many songs that I couldn�t fit on here (I�m working on Volume II � Kwame, you will have your day!), but here�s what got me moving this morning.)

1. Baby Got Back, by Sir Mix-A-Lot � I know I�ve discussed on here before what a lyrical genius Lucy and I think the good Sir is, so I won�t get into it much further except to say this one thing: My anaconda don�t want none unless you�ve got buns, hon.

2. Bust a Move, by Young MC � Do people even remember Principal�s Office anymore? Either way, this is still Young�s better song. Try to find someone my age who doesn�t know most, if not all of the words.

3. I Got a Man, by Positive K � I received a comment on my last entry (about 10 ways to ensure that you will never see me naked) asking for 10 ways that guarantee a guy a good shot at seeing me naked. I�m still thinking about that one, but I know one of them has to be performing this song with me at karaoke. (Another is, �Hi, I�m Eric Balfour.�) Actually, I would love to do this song by myself at karaoke as I really do bring life to both parts. I make you believe and really know that I can get a ragamuffin.

4. Now That We Found Love, by Heavy D. � I find this to be a highly under-appreciated song. It was the perfect summer song all those years ago when I was easting all of the food, I mean WORKING in the snack bar at a summer theater. Ah, good times.

5. Parents Just Don�t Understand, by DJ Jazzy Jeff and the Fresh Prince � I don�t know many people who do not automatically follow someone saying, �Okay, here�s the situation,� with the response of, �My parents went away on a week�s vacation.� For that (and other reasons, but mostly that), I love my friends.

6. Pop Goes the Weasel, by 3rd Bass � This song title reminds me of a day back in junior high when I couldn�t remember the end of the other �Pop Goes the Weasel.� I started asking all of my classmates, and we all got hung up after, �the monkey chased the weasel.� We racked our brains for almost the entire day (since this was before the days of the Internet where we could have had that information toot sweet) and just spent most of it going, �Na na na na hmmm hmmm hmrph, pop goes the weasel!� And can you believe that right now I can�t remember it again? I know that monkey does something.

7. Rump Shaker, by Wreckx-N-Effect � Quick quiz: How many times did they show this video on the Jukebox network? Answer: More than Justify My Love, but less than the one-two punch of 2 Live Crew�s Me So Horny and Pop That Coochie.

8. Scenario, by A Tribe Called Quest � Here we go yo, here we go yo�. I still love when Busta comes in at the end. Also, any song that uses the phrase �How now brown cow� ranks pretty high with me.

9. Supersonic, by J.J. Fad � One of my friend Rachel�s all-time favorite songs. C�mon, everyone start doing the �S-is for super� part. (I�m still partial to that weird high-pitched laugh that one of them does at the end.)

10. The Choice is Yours, by Black Sheep � Who�s the black sheep, what�s the black sheep?

11. The Rain, by Oran� Juice Jones � I know, I know, I talk about the Juice constantly, but come on! The rap at the end of this song is utterly delicious. �You mess with the Juice!�

12. 911 is a Joke, by Public Enemy � Somebody call an ambulance! One of the greatest music videos ever � I am still on the eternal search to find it to watch online. Anyone got any tips? I NEED to see Flavor Flav eating the lettuce.

13. The D.O.C. and the Doctor, by The D.O.C. (featuring Dr. Dre) � It�s the diggy diggy doctor!!!

14. U Can�t Touch This, by M.C. Hammer � I don�t know why, I just felt like I had to.

15. Wild Thing, by Tone Loc � I still like Funky Cold Medina better (Sheena was a man!), but for old school value, you can�t go wrong with the Wild Thing. �Let�s do it.�

16. Getting� Jiggy Wit It, by Will Smith � Because Summertime was too long and this is too infectious.

17. Jump, By Kris Kross � You know, I wasn�t really a fan of this song the first time around, but years later Lucy and I used to go to a local Italian restaurant that had jukeboxes at the tables and we�d play this (along with the Spanish version of I�m Too Sexy) and it grew on me. This was a toss-up between including this or ABC�s Playground. (You know!)

18. They Want Effects, by Das EFX � Highly underrated song � it totally kicks ass. Bonus points for the use of �Pretty sneaky, sis�� in the lyrics.

19. & 20. Gz And Hustlas (w/Intro), by Snoop Doggy Dogg � CLASSIC song, classic intro. When the bass drops at the beginning of the song, my ass can�t help but move. The finest work by the Doggfather. Preach on, Snoop.


So there you have it. A mix CD guaranteed to wake you up and get you moving. Just watch the shouting and the hand gestures, you could end up looking like me (Translation: foolish).


before & after





2007-09-26 - Follow Me!
2006-09-30 - Site Move & Favorite Entries
2006-09-25 - Evil Easter Bunnies & Rock Climbing!
2006-09-22 - Shameful-Purchase Hiding & A New Dentist Plan
2006-09-19 - Birthday Picture/Video Diary & The Wheelmobile


Powered by blogtools.org


Copyright 2003-2006 by Sockgirlie. Stealing is wrong.


journal

info

contact

credits

linkytown