Everything's More Fun In Pigtails!
2004-04-25 || Scooby Don't
Damn.

I sat down at my computer all excited to tell the great story of the scary ass dive bar that we went to Friday night but then realized that I don't really have much to tell about it. We weren't there long enough for me to ingest it fully in order to describe all of its glory. Oh, but I'll try.

Friday night we had a retirement party for my old boss. As is our new tradition, we decided to hit karaoke afterwards. I really wanted to go to the homeless bar again, but one of my friends thought it was too skeevy and divey and frowned on the idea. It was also not as close to where the party was, so my friend spent the day scouting the area around the party location looking for karaoke bars. Thank God he found two. We decided to go to this place called Scooby's Neighborhood Grill, because the karaoke started earlier there, so therefore there would be no lag time between the party and the karaoke. I had driven by the place many a time on my way home from the old office, and it looked very nice and cute on the outside. However, when we arrived there Friday night, I found out that the cute little roadside part of the building that I saw was just a hoax. The entrance was in the rear, and it was a scary looking thing. I don't know about most people, but I think that a place with iron bars over the front door just may not be my kind of joint. My thoughts were confirmed when we walked inside. Now I've been in many a dive bar in my time, but they were always the good and harmless kind of dive bar. The fun ones. The awesome ones. This one? Just plain scary. Not the good kind. This was the kind of place where you thought that any moment someone might lunge at another person with a broken beer bottle. We all just kind of stood there for a few minutes, shellshocked and staring at each other. I should also point out that we stuck out like sore thumbs because we were all dressed a little nicer than usual for the dinner, and the dress code at the bar seemed to be sweatpants and dirty jeans. One of my friends made me submit a song right when we got there, before I had gotten a good look around. Once we took a look around, we all started getting directions to the other place and planning our escape. Then we realized that 2 people from our group hadn't gotten there yet and we had no way of contacting them to let them know about the change of plans. We suffered through 2 and a half amazingly bad and drunken songs before they finally showed up. When they did, my friend's wife took one look at the place and said, "What the hell is this? Let's get the hell out of here!" As we were agreeing, I heard the person running the karaoke call out my name. I froze like a deer in headlights. Finally I just ran up to sing my song so we could get out of there ASAP. As I was singing, I noticed that there was a big inflatable Scooby Doo head on the opposite wall. It did NOT fit in with this place at all. Apparently, there were a lot of vulgar comments and catcalls directed my way during my song, but luckily I didn't hear them. I just finished my song, handed off the microphone, and we all grabbed our coats and ran. And I know this next statement might make my girls over at Drunky But Funky cry, but I think it just goes to show just how scary this place was: we didn't even finish any of our drinks. We just booked it out of there. We left barely-touched bottles of beer just sitting there, half-drunk Manhattans, all kinds of things. We left the booze, but we kept our lives. Phew!

Next time I'm totally going back to see the homeless people.

Thankfully, the other place we went to was MUCH nicer. It was a bowling alley bar, and it looked like a palace compared to Scooby's. We mentioned where we had just come from to one of the other bar patrons, and he cried out in utter horror, "No!!!!!!!!!!!!!" Why couldn't we have met him first? Anyway, happily, I had my voice back because it's been on the fritz for almost 3 months now from allergies. I usually lose it for about 2 months in the spring and about a month or two in the fall. And then I become The Sad, because I love, love, LOVE to sing. That was the first time I've really gotten to sing that much since my voice just started coming back last week, so I was very happy. Plus, there was hardly anyone there so I got to do 4 songs in a short period of time. And after hearing me sing, one of my friends from work told me that if he wasn't already married, he'd marry me. I guess that's always nice to hear.

So now I guess we know for next time:
Scooby's - NO
Bowling alley - Yes
Homeless people bar - Hell yeah!

_______________________________________

In other news, I went to visit my friend Kris today to drop off her son's first birthday present. Kris and I have been friends since we were 5. It's just so weird to have my friends getting married and having kids. Crazy. Old!!! I don't want to be old!! Anyway, while I was there, Kris's son was wandering about, trying to talk, but really just making mostly nonsensical noises and grunts. Most people find that adorable and talk back and say what they think the child is saying, like, "Dog? You want your dog?" or, "Daddy? You want dada?" Not me. I'm thinking, "Who is he, Nell?" Do people really have to wonder why I never wanted kids?

_______________________________________

Dear Britney:

I know I've said some bad things in the past, but I did say some nice things about Toxic. And yeah, I know I'll probably continue to say some not too nice things about you in the future, but for right now I just want to say two words: Thank you. Thank you for giving me some shirtless Dorff in your new video. I giddily watch it on 'mute' whenever it comes on.

Yours,

Pam

_______________________________________

Dear Stephen Dorff:

What were you thinking? Britney?? But thanks for taking your shirt off.

Love to your pelvic bones,

Pam


Comments? Sign the book!

before & after





2007-09-26 - Follow Me!
2006-09-30 - Site Move & Favorite Entries
2006-09-25 - Evil Easter Bunnies & Rock Climbing!
2006-09-22 - Shameful-Purchase Hiding & A New Dentist Plan
2006-09-19 - Birthday Picture/Video Diary & The Wheelmobile


Powered by blogtools.org


Copyright 2003-2006 by Sockgirlie. Stealing is wrong.


journal

info

contact

credits

linkytown