Everything's More Fun In Pigtails!
2006-02-22 || "He Lives In A SHACK!"

Boy, I certainly dodged that bullet.

I went to watch American Idol last night with a guy that I dated briefly in college ten years ago. I�ve seen him once since then, and we IM each other about twice a year. Other than that, I never talk to the guy, so I found it kind of odd that he would IM me out of the blue to invite me over to his new place to watch Idol. He has a girlfriend, so I didn�t think he was looking to rekindle anything. Still, I was awfully curious, so I went over last night. It was�certainly interesting. Now let me just preface this by saying that this guy is really nice and I have nothing but warm feelings for him, he�s just very...different from me. And even though we dated ten years ago (and only for a few months), I was reminded last night of why we never clicked as a couple, even though some of us have grown up a lot since then. And why is this? Think of what you know about me and consider the following:

1. He lives in a shack. Seriously, I pulled up and I was all, �This can�t be right, that�s someone�s tool shed.� As I was looking around, my ex popped out from the door and was waving. All I could think of was Nicolas Cage in Honeymoon in Vegas, shouting, �He lives in a SHACK!� Anyway, so yeah � he�s very mountain man-y in his shack where he has to wear a winter hat to bed because he sleeps in the attic where there is no heat.

2. He has an unusually large mineral collection. This wouldn�t be so bad if he just had a few here and there and didn�t live in a shack where one of the few hallways is taken up by two gigantic curio/hutch things full of rocks and minerals. I mean, I have my kitschy collections of things, but they�re not taking up half of my house and they�re not...minerals.

3. He�s a pothead. It�s just getting better and better, isn�t it? This one was an interesting discovery, as he didn�t smoke or toke back 10 years ago when it was a better time to be doing that stuff. Isn�t he a little old to be doing that on such a regular basis now? I don�t know. Is it just me? I mean, grow up, right? Eh, to each his own I guess. All I know is that he was half baked when I got there and went outside a little while later to turn it into a full bake. What a host!

4. His roommate owns Marmaduke. A little while after I arrived, my ex�s roommate came home and I heard this loud pounding noise, which was followed by the arrival of his roommate�s 140 POUND golden retriever. The thing was a horse. A dog that size in a shack? No room for anything else. Have I mentioned the shack?

5. He and I have the complete opposite sense of humor. Actually, this one I knew as it was one of the major reasons that he and I didn�t work when we were dating. This was only made even clearer last night when he was going through the shows that were saved on his DVR and I questioned one in particular: �Why do you have America�s Funniest Home Videos saved on your DVR?� His answer? �Because it�s the funniest show EVER!� And he was not even joking. He then proceeded to tell me about two recent hi-LARIOUS things that he saw on there. That was then followed by him telling these two jokes (and you know me with the �Do people still tell jokes? Who tells jokes anymore?�): �What�s the difference between roast beef and pea soup? Anyone can roast beef!� & �How do you catch a unique rabbit? Unique up on it!� He then laughed hysterically for five minutes while I sat there cursing Idol for being two hours long last night.

So yeah �I missed out on a shack-dwelling pothead who lives with Marmaduke and his minerals and DVRs America�s Funniest Home Videos. How did I let that go?

******************************

In other news, I�m officially crying �Uncle!� at work in terms of The Cowardly Lion and his hacking. He�s been choking and gagging for 4 MONTHS now. EVERY DAY. thought it would have gone away by now, but it only gets worse. I can�t take it anymore, so I�m packing up and moving to the other end of the building. Sorry in advance to the person who gets my cubicle!


before & after





2007-09-26 - Follow Me!
2006-09-30 - Site Move & Favorite Entries
2006-09-25 - Evil Easter Bunnies & Rock Climbing!
2006-09-22 - Shameful-Purchase Hiding & A New Dentist Plan
2006-09-19 - Birthday Picture/Video Diary & The Wheelmobile


Powered by blogtools.org


Copyright 2003-2006 by Sockgirlie. Stealing is wrong.


journal

info

contact

credits

linkytown