Everything's More Fun In Pigtails!
2003-07-04 || Skunks and a Bookish Friday Five
Oh Lawdy, does it smell all up in here.

Did I miss something on the news about a mass skunk migration? For the past two weeks there have been skunks everywhere, skunkifying everything with their skunkariffic skunk. It's just ridiculous. My mother is even starting to complain about the almost nightly scent of a skunk in the 'hood. "Is that ANOTHER skunk??!! What is going on??" Do as I do, Mom. Shut the windows and turn on the A/C. Rebel against the skunks! Refuse to become part of their master plan! I think some people have been rebelling a bit too much, because a huge chunk of the mass skunk migration can be found in the form of roadkill. Every road I go on, no matter where - skunk remains scattered about. The lingering scent is always a plus. How the hell long does that stench last anyway? Criminy! I think the worst I've seen so far was on my way to work one day. Someone either plowed down a skunk family reunion or the skunk equivalent of the Stay-Puff Marshmallow Man was in town and got taken down. It was just pure skunk carnage. Let that be a lesson to all of you skunks - um, go to Connecticut or something. Stop spraying your juices of love outside my window, or I'll have my neighbor mow you down. What's that? Why don't I do it myself? Did you just say I'm not as big and tough as I think I am? You're not smelling up my car, you skunk bastard. That happened to me once when I was in high school and we ran into the school hunk-a-hunk-a-burnin'-love at a drive thru and he shriveled up his nose and said, "What is that smell coming from your car??" Yeah, that's the smell of me never getting a date with you now. Sigh. Okay, I'll stop rambling about the skunks and get on with things. It's Friday, Happy 4th of July, and let's roll with the Friday Five:

1. What were your favorite childhood stories?
I don't even know how many times I borrowed Green Eggs & Ham from the library. I also liked the Narnia books, Shel Silverstein poems, the Amelia Bedelia books, Corduroy, and the sad but awesome story of The Velveteen Rabbit. I think I also went through a 'Choose Your Own Adventure' phase. Nancy Drew? Screw that bitch. Give me Encyclopedia Brown any day. (I started liking boys veeeery early.)

2. What books from your childhood would you like to share with [your] children?
Well, since I'm not having any children, I'll have to share with my friend's kiddies. They will never be in need of Dr. Seuss books or the aforementioned Shel Silverstein poetry. But hear me now, I will not be the one to buy any girls their first copy of Judy Blume's Forever. Blame their first sex book on someone else!

3. Have you re-read any of those childhood stories and been surprised by anything?
Not really. But The Cat in the Hat? What an instigator. I'd neuter him for what he did to my house.

4. How old were you when you first learned to read?
I was an early one, somewhere between 3 and 4. The first book I read was called The Gingerbread House, and I just remember at the end of the story I would yell as I read, "GET OUT! GET OUT!" My father thought I was faking. Thanks, Dad.

5. Do you remember the first 'grown-up' book you read? How old were you?
I actually have no idea. I wouldn't know how to define 'grown-up book.'

Speaking of books, I finally finished HP5 last week and devoured Pamie's book, Why Girls Are Weird, one night last week. I highly recommend them both! You can't go wrong with some good ol' fashioned boy wizardry. The one complaint I have about the new Harry Potter - not enough Dobby. He needs to live in my house. Someone send me a house elf please. Thank you. With that, I'm off to a BBQ - have a great 4th and a great weekend!



before & after





2007-09-26 - Follow Me!
2006-09-30 - Site Move & Favorite Entries
2006-09-25 - Evil Easter Bunnies & Rock Climbing!
2006-09-22 - Shameful-Purchase Hiding & A New Dentist Plan
2006-09-19 - Birthday Picture/Video Diary & The Wheelmobile


Powered by blogtools.org


Copyright 2003-2006 by Sockgirlie. Stealing is wrong.


journal

info

contact

credits

linkytown