Everything's More Fun In Pigtails!
2003-09-19 || Watch Out For Trouser Snakes!
Arrr, the booty!

Sorry, had to get in my Talk Like a Pirate Day kicks while I still could. That's my standard pirate line. I used to work at a Hallmark store with my friend Rachel and sometimes at night when we were bored we'd look through the catalogs of Hallmark merchandise and complain about all of the great things that the owner never ordered. He really had the worst taste. One such thing was this line of pirate party goods. I think the goody bags said something about booty on them. I remember the thank you cards saying "Thank you for the treasure." You have to say it like a pirate in order to get any genuine meaning out of it. When you're bored to tears and stuck in a store all night, sometimes you derive great pleasure out of silly things like talking like a pirate. That, or testing the Create-a-card machine.

One night we discovered that the machine for making your own cards had a profanity sensor built in. One of the girls was joking around with it and had put the word "ass" in her message. This big warning message came on the screen saying that those kind of words weren't allowed or something to that effect. We spent the next hour testing the machine to see what words it would and wouldn't allow. It was surprising what we were able to slip through. It was even more surprising to see what we couldn't. Case in point: trouser snake. I don't even know where Rachel came up with that one, but when we typed it in, the warning message came up. Who even uses that term? And who would think to program it in as an inappropriate phrase for card making? The machine allowed 'blow job' but not 'trouser snake'? What is wrong with those people over at Hallmark? Someone actually put time and effort into coming up with 'trouser snake' as an unacceptable phrase but allowed 'doggie style.' I've never understood that. Or maybe it's just me and it's a local thing, and in every other state people say 'trouser snake' at least eight times a day. Is it just me?

That also reminds me of an e-mail I sent to one of my friends who works at a company that has a profanity blocker for incoming e-mail. He told me that one of my messages couldn't be delivered to him because of profanity, so when I went back and looked at what kind of offensive word I used it turned out to be the word 'crap.' Crap??? That's a profanity? Since when? Am I missing something? Was it on George Carlin's list of seven words you can't say on TV? Crap?? That's some profanity blocker they've got going there. I think I'll have to send him an e-mail Monday asking about his trouser snake to see if it goes through.

Celebrity Boyfriend of the Day: Breckin Meyer
I'll never love him more than I did when he was Travis Birkenstock in Clueless, although his performance in Go comes close. But still, Travis all the way.

Comments? Sign My Guestbook!

before & after





2007-09-26 - Follow Me!
2006-09-30 - Site Move & Favorite Entries
2006-09-25 - Evil Easter Bunnies & Rock Climbing!
2006-09-22 - Shameful-Purchase Hiding & A New Dentist Plan
2006-09-19 - Birthday Picture/Video Diary & The Wheelmobile


Powered by blogtools.org


Copyright 2003-2006 by Sockgirlie. Stealing is wrong.


journal

info

contact

credits

linkytown