Everything's More Fun In Pigtails!
2003-11-12 || I Want To Be A Solid Gold Dancer!
Solid Gold, filling up my life with music
Solid Gold, putting rhythm in my soul
There's a song that's unreeling
To fit the way that I'm feeling
My head keeps spinning to music
Spinning to gold...SOLID GOLD!

Whatever happened to good ol' Solid Gold? [sigh] And why did we watch it in the first place? Why?? WHY???

Was it because of the Solid Gold dancers? I think it's pretty safe to say that's why most boys watched the show. And I also do remember wanting to be a Solid Gold dancer at one time in my life. I think a lot of girls had that desire, even if it was a fleeting one. But why do I also remember them not being all that hot? Hell, I don't remember most of them at all. The only one I remember is the black woman who always had her hair in this ponytail that flew everywhere. Darcy? Darcel? Darcel! Am I remembering this right? Did they tell us their names? And I don't remember them being particularly good dancers. Didn't they often just somersault across the stage while one of them held an abnormally large ball or something?

So why did we watch the show again? Maybe to hear all of the "top hits." Nah, that can't be it, because I distinctly remember Bob Geldof and his Boomtown Rats "performing" on the show and I really don't remember them having any top ten hits in the states. Maybe they did, but still. Who wants to watch Bob Geldof? He looks homeless. Sheena Easton must have been out of town that week. She was on ALL the time. And what, really, was the point of having one or two of the performers actually there if they weren't going to sing? Did we have a higher tolerance for lip-synching then? We must have, given that Puttin' on the Hits and Allan Fawcett weren't far behind. (Hitsssaaahhh!) So why did we want to watch a show where Sheena Easton came on to phone in her lip-synched 10th performance of Morning Train?

Maybe we watched for the hosts! I mean, who's not down with Dionne Warwick? I was more into the show when Marilyn McCoo hosted. There was also that bad period when Rick Dees hosted, and he would feel the need to repeatedly perform his novelty smash, Disco Duck. This was what kept us riveted in front of the television, folks. God help us. I think Marilyn McCoo used to get random cohosts from time to time, like Andy Gibb and Rex Smith. The worst was when one of the hosts felt the need to perform one of that week's songs. I like Marilyn McCoo and all, but usually she would pick songs that were clearly not meant for her and would just butcher them. Stick to Marry Me Bill, Marilyn. Dionne? Ditto on the Heartbreaker. (Love that song!) The funniest thing I remember about all of this was my brother complaining one night about Marilyn McCoo's interpretation of the Klymaxx song, I Miss You. "Why did she have to sing that? She ruined a good song." First of all - good song? That's up for debate. It's okay. Kinda meh. Second of all - why does my brother like that song? Even if he does, why is he telling anyone that he does?

Ooh, now I remember why we watched the show! Madame!!! What is more fitting for a TV show that counts down the week's top ten pop hits than a wise-cracking puppet that looks like a tarted up Lady Elaine Fairchild? It's genius! Wait, I think I got my Waylon Flowers and Madame fix with Hollywood Squares. Hmmm. So 'no' on the Madame.

So why did we watch it again? (And I watched it ALL the time) I think I've got it now. Maybe it was because of the combination of all of the above. The dancers, the lip-synching, the hosts, the puppets, the abnormally large blocks and balls, etc. Add all of these ingredients, simmer on low heat, and you have got yourself some pure American cheese. God Bless you, Solid Gold.

[Does anyone else have that damn theme song stuck in their heads now? I changed my mind - damn you, Solid Gold!]


Celebrity Boyfriend of the Day: Will Ferrell
Will Ferrell is The Funny. I can't even handle it. He can just walk into a room and I'm already laughing. If you haven't seen Elf, go see it. And if you haven't seen the SNL sketch of the Blue Oyster Cult Behind the Music, see it NOW.

Comments? Sign my guestbook!

before & after





2007-09-26 - Follow Me!
2006-09-30 - Site Move & Favorite Entries
2006-09-25 - Evil Easter Bunnies & Rock Climbing!
2006-09-22 - Shameful-Purchase Hiding & A New Dentist Plan
2006-09-19 - Birthday Picture/Video Diary & The Wheelmobile


Powered by blogtools.org


Copyright 2003-2006 by Sockgirlie. Stealing is wrong.


journal

info

contact

credits

linkytown