Everything's More Fun In Pigtails!
2004-02-19 || Taking The Plunge

I think I have a problem.

Isn't the first step admitting that you have a problem? Yes, yes, it is. So I'm admitting it right now. I love TV. I think I may love TV a little too much sometimes. But it's only certain shows. That's not so bad, is it? I'm not one of those people who has a TV on for background noise all of the time. I just have my appointment TV thing going. I like to be in the loop and see these shows every week (unless it's a repeat). That's all. No, wait. Then I do have a few shows that I enjoy but don't have to see every episode of. If I'm home and available, I'll watch it. And then there's my beloved Television Without Pity recaps. Someone once griped to me, "You don't watch TV enough, now you have to go and read about it??" These people, sadly, just don't feel the love. They don't understand. But it's okay. Not everyone does. [sigh]

A couple of things happened this week that alerted me to the fact that my TV addiction may be a small problem, though. The other day while I was getting my new (and unfortunate) haircut, my mother and her friend/hairstylist started talking about elementary school Father-Daughter Dances. I dutifully went every year, because that was what you did back then, but now I look back in horror at those things. The poor fathers! Our Father-Daughter Dances mainly consisted of square dancing!! SQUARE DANCING! Why???? The only relief of the night came when the "Caller" would take a short break and put on a few pop songs for the girls to dance to while the dads also took a break. And without fail, every year one of the songs would be Beat It. Even 2 or 3 years after it came out. I guess in Square-Dancing Land new music only comes out once a decade. I remember the pop-music portion of the night was followed by the circle dance Trilogy of Terror: The Chicken Dance, The Mexican Hat Dance and The Hokey Pokey. (The kindergarten girls weren't too adept at the Hokey Pokey, not fully remembering right from left at that age. I have a video of me proving this theory. That thing needs to be burned) I complain now, but I should also be thankful that these dances took place before the creation of The Electric Slide and The Macarena. Oh Lord.

Anyway, where was I? Oh yes, the conversation about the Father Daughter Dances. My mother felt the need to highlight the fact that in first grade, I had to leave the dance early because I wanted to get home to see The Brady Brides. Hey, I had a big crush on Bobby at the time and I just had to know what he looked like all grown up. I remember torturing my father the entire night about wanting to leave. Once again, TV ruled my life.

The other indicator that I might have a problem happened Sunday. A girl at church was mentioning that she had some advance movie passes for Thursday night that she wasn't going to be using, and she was offering them to whoever wanted them. All I could think in my head was, "Dude, Thursday night is The Apprentice, Survivor and Friends. Bitch, you are crazy!!" [Please note that I only use the word 'dude' inside of my head] But this is my way of thinking most of the time. This can't be good. I do have to point out, though, that in terms of Thursday night viewing, the person on the show who is voted off/fired is usually reported the next day, and I really don't want to know before I watch the show. So I want to see those that night. (Besides, my brother and I have a thing where we call each other and "discuss" afterwards) I will, however, make exceptions for going out if I have a hot date (which is pretty rarely). Boys ALWAYS take precedence. Come on, now, that's just a given. And I also have to say in my defense that I will go out most other nights and tape my TV viewing for later. AND I take Monday nights off. Well, now that Joe Millionaire isn't on anymore. But then again, on Tuesdays I do like to be back home early enough so I can watch American Idol. Hey, I have to be able to discuss it at work the next day. Wow, now I'm thinking about it and remembering that when I was in college I told my boss that I had a night class on Thursdays so I could be home for Seinfeld. Sad, but kinda funny in a pitiful sort of way.

I think I have a solution for all of the madness, though. But...it could also make things worse. I don't know. I've been thinking about doing it for two years now and I think it's finally time to take the plunge. I want a Tivo. From what I've read and heard from some fans, I think it could turn out to be the great love of my life. Gone will be the days of "Don't even dare call me during [insert show name of your choice here]". Nay, go ahead and call - I can pause it! No more hearing, "Hey Pam, did you see The Daily Show last night? It was SO good," and cursing myself for letting that be the one night that week that I missed it. I can be freeeeeeeee!!! But then again, it could get worse - I could discover all kinds of new shows that build up in my suggestions, sending me into a downward spiral of syndicated goodies and crappy VH-1 Specials. Am I willing to take that chance? Argh!! My income tax return is taunting me with the chant, "Tivo, Tivo, Tivo!! Oh, and flat screen TV, flat screen TV, flat screen!! No, wait, Tivo, flat screen and HDTV!!! [droooool]" Damn, tax return - you're not THAT big. Shit.

Anyone who has a Tivo - drop me an e-mail or sign my guestbook and tell me if it's worth it. Help!!!


Co-Worker Conversational Faux Pas of the Day: "What up, dawg?"
Yeah, she asked me this at 8:29 in the frigging morning. Let me just point out that she is 39 years-old and whiter than white. Also? She is not Randy Jackson. Bitch, please. NO. Just no.

before & after





2007-09-26 - Follow Me!
2006-09-30 - Site Move & Favorite Entries
2006-09-25 - Evil Easter Bunnies & Rock Climbing!
2006-09-22 - Shameful-Purchase Hiding & A New Dentist Plan
2006-09-19 - Birthday Picture/Video Diary & The Wheelmobile


Powered by blogtools.org


Copyright 2003-2006 by Sockgirlie. Stealing is wrong.


journal

info

contact

credits

linkytown