Everything's More Fun In Pigtails!
2004-02-23 || I'm In Love With A Machine

I'm in love.

I got my TiVo over the weekend. My TV won't be in until Thursday, so I figured I'd just wait to hook up the TiVo until then. I put the box in the spare room on Saturday and went about my business as usual. However, from somewhere deep inside, I could hear it calling to me. "Open me, hook me up, look at me, loooooooove me." I tried to resist its charms. I scolded the box, telling it I would hook it up on Thursday and no sooner. I wagged my finger. I tsk tsk'ed it. Then today I thought to myself, "Well, I'll just open the box and make sure everything that the guy told me would be in it really is. That way I won't have to run out and get cables or anything when I do hook it up." Yes, it was all very simple. Just a peek. I carried the box into my room and gingerly opened it up. As soon as I saw the remote control sitting there, I just snapped. I tore into the package like a rabid dog and had that thing hooked up lickity split. Now I'm sitting here pausing live TV and drooling all over my shirt. I invited people in to show off my rewinding capabilities. "Look, LOOK!!! Watch this - 'What did he say? Hmm, let me just hit the instant replay button...WOO!!!'" It's awesome. I can't wait until all of the program info is fully downloaded. I'm going to be like me in a candy store. That's far worse than any kid, you'd better believe that! Aww TiVo, I love you!

_______________________________________

In other news, we had a new girl start today at work. She's 23 and is going to be in charge of the clerical unit. Her desk is on the other side of the office from me, so I won't really have to see her much. This is probably a good thing. I have enough on my hands with having to sit next to The Dunce (who, by the way, started singing 'I've Been Working on the Railroad' ten minutes before the end of the day today. I wanted to cry in defeat). But this new girl - she's already getting on my nerves. She was sitting at the lunch table with us today, butting into everyone's conversations and adding ridiculous comments. I kept thinking about the scene near the beginning of Funny Girl when Fanny's mother mentions that a stranger like Nick should be acting a little more like a stranger. Anyhoo, the worst part came when I introduced myself. I was sitting right across from the girl, and didn't want to look rude, so I asked if she was the new Principal Clerk, to which she said yes. Now let me first note that she was wearing one of those sweaters with a big initial on the chest. After I told her my name, she happily pointed to the big letter 'C' above her left boob and chirped, "I'm Christine!" Oh, hell no. Save that shit for someone else, Laverne. I just smiled and nodded and went back to stuffing my face. (closing in on 10 pounds in the weight gain department, by the way) It's just not the same at this new place. I talked to a couple of my friends in my old office this afternoon, and it's just such a difference. Once my 6 months of job probation are up, I can go back once there is an opening. I'm hoping there will be one right after that. I miss my boys!!!!

Finally, I am officially up another notch in the 'I'm getting old' category. Since starting this new job, I've discovered a new way to save some time in the morning so I can stay in bed longer - I lay my clothes out the night before. I haven't done that on a regular basis since kindergarten. Man. Am I old? Never mind, don't answer that. [sigh]


Co-Worker Fashion Faus Pax of the Day: Dirty hair - ew!

Comments? Sign the book!

before & after





2007-09-26 - Follow Me!
2006-09-30 - Site Move & Favorite Entries
2006-09-25 - Evil Easter Bunnies & Rock Climbing!
2006-09-22 - Shameful-Purchase Hiding & A New Dentist Plan
2006-09-19 - Birthday Picture/Video Diary & The Wheelmobile


Powered by blogtools.org


Copyright 2003-2006 by Sockgirlie. Stealing is wrong.


journal

info

contact

credits

linkytown