Everything's More Fun In Pigtails!
2004-02-10 || The Voices, Make Them Stop Crying!

�Oh my God, I did NOT sing that song.�

This thought ran through my head as I sat in training this morning. I�ve started another training, so every other day I have class with a different teacher, one of the non-John Waters movie variety. She�s very nice, with a voice that lulls me off into la-la land. Today I was thinking about some questions that one of the girls that was in the play had asked me, and my thoughts somehow took a wrong turn and led me to memories of an audition I went to in high school. My high school didn�t really have a drama club or anything like that. We had a fun drama class that was offered as an elective, but there was no big play to be put on every year. Anyway, I remember that changing my senior year when a teacher from the junior high came over in hopes of staging a big cabaret-type musical review for the high school. We were all encouraged to come down and sing our little hearts out for the auditions. I�m not quite sure why, but for some reason I went. At that point, I wasn�t very comfortable singing in front of people, (I hadn�t turned into a karaoke madwoman yet) but I grew a set and decided to brave it. I had chosen a song beforehand and brought the instrumental track along with me, but as I sat in the auditorium, my mind kept going back and forth about changing my song. This was during my Fabulous Baker Boys phase, so one of the songs I considered switching to was Ten Cents a Dance. Yes, as I think about it now, I�m sure a song about prostitution-type dance halls would have gone over real well back then. (Oh my God, I just remembered that I practiced a song in front of my drama class earlier in the day. I sang along with a Mariah Carey song that I had taped off of the TV. Oh man, I used to play that tape into the ground. Oh my God, I even did all of the little high notes. It�s beginning to become a lot clearer to me these days why I didn�t have more boyfriends in high school) Anyhoo, I know that I had other song choices that I had scribbled down and erased before finally deciding to go with my original song pick. I wish I could remember what they were, because anything would have been better than what I chose. I went up on that stage and proudly belted out Voices That Care. Voices. That. Care. And I wasn�t even joking. Oh my God, now I wonder if I was like an American Idol reject. How did the teacher not laugh? How did he not ask me incredulously about my song choice? Holy shit, I FRIGGING SANG �VOICES THAT CARE,� and without a trace of irony. The shame, the SHAME!!! AAAGGGHH!!! And now it�s stuck in my head, but I only remember the chorus, so that is on repeat. AAGGHH!! IT�S IN MY HEAD!!!!!!!! If I bang my head on the desk, do you think it will stop? If I bang it hard enough, maybe I can knock myself out for a few minutes. Oh no, but what if I wake up and it�s still there?? Those voices that care, they are crying out loud!!! AAAAAAAAAAGGGGGGGGGGGGHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!

Okay, I�m just going to think of something else and maybe it will go away. God, I hope so. [�And when you close your eyes tonight�.� AAGGHH!] Lucy and I have decided to be fashionably late on the whole New Year�s thing. We�re starting ours as of February 1st instead. We�re kind of like the Chinese, I guess. Maybe we�ll just tweak things and make it Year of the Sock Monkey instead. I don�t know, though, I like Jessica�s idea of the Year of The Sexy better. I think that�s kind of closer to what we�re going for. We�re starting with clean slates on the guy front. Our motto this year is �Bring on the New Boys!� Lucy has started her quest somewhat strangely. She went on a first date with a guy on Sunday night and he brought her to a wake. I�m still trying to wrap my head around that one. I think she even went up and viewed the body and went through the receiving line with him! WTF?? Who brings a girl to a wake on their first date? Can�t you pick her up later? I don�t get it. For me, January was used for a housecleaning of sorts. I said goodbye to an old love and also shut down the �benefits� bonus portion of a friendship. For the first time in a long, long time I am free of any lingering boys, even thoughts of them. It feels really good. I�m ready for the next phase of boydom. Woo! The other night I was heading home after the big ending talk with my benefit friend and there was an 80�s flashback program on the radio. As I was basking in my newfound freedom, breathing in the refreshing cool and crisp winter air and getting excited about the possibilities of what�s to come in life, Night Ranger�s Sister Christian came on. For some odd reason, as cheesy as it is, it just seemed to fit the moment perfectly. I cranked that song up, popped the moonroof to let in some fresh air and just started wailing, �Motorin�!!! What's your price for flight??!!� It was so lame but it also felt just so ridiculously awesome. Ooh, and even better news - now Sister Christian is stuck in my head! Woo! (I do love that song anyway. What? Hey, they don�t call them �guilty� pleasures for nothing) It�s funny, because my friend had earlier described me as being �lost,� and I told him that I may have been, but last month I went and got myself back. I found that girl I used to be and took her home. Now she�s back and is looking to have some fun. Boys, don�t say you haven�t been warned....


Co-Worker Fashion Faux Pas of the Day: Boots with tapered leg pants.
The Dunce had on these weird-looking old boots with a triangular heel. They looked like a cowboy/dress boot hybrid. She had them on with tapered-leg khakis, and the legs of the pants were just bulging where the boots were. When she sat down her pants would ride up, so every time she stood up she'd have to stand there for a minute trying to push her pants back down over those fugly, fugly boots.

Comments? Sign the book!



before & after





2007-09-26 - Follow Me!
2006-09-30 - Site Move & Favorite Entries
2006-09-25 - Evil Easter Bunnies & Rock Climbing!
2006-09-22 - Shameful-Purchase Hiding & A New Dentist Plan
2006-09-19 - Birthday Picture/Video Diary & The Wheelmobile


Powered by blogtools.org


Copyright 2003-2006 by Sockgirlie. Stealing is wrong.


journal

info

contact

credits

linkytown