Everything's More Fun In Pigtails!
2006-07-06 || You Want An Entry That's All Over The Place? Come On In!

So that's how they get you.

I had to bring my car in today and was given a loaner to use for the day. The dealership where I bought my car is quite smart - they give really nice loaner cars so you'll want to upgrade. The last two times I've had a fully loaded Acura SUV to drive around, which was nice and all, but I liked it up until I had to replace the gas. However, both of them had XM Satellite radio in them, and after two commutes to work playing with the radio, I really want one now. I came home and told my mother that I had turned into Veruca Salt and announced, "I want a satellite radio NOW!" in my best British whine. But seriously, and I hardly ever use this word, but DUDE - this thing rules. Here are some of the selections I listened to (and sang along with LOUDLY) during my commute to and from work today:

Goin' Back to Cali, LL Cool J
Over My Head, The Fray
Feels Good, Tony! Toni! Tone!
Girls, Girls, Girls, Motley Crue
Home, Michael Buble
Black Horse and a Cherry Tree, KT Tunstall
Something by Jamie Cullum
Look Away, Chicago
Boot Scootin' Boogie, Brooks & Dunn
Saving All My Love For You, Whitney Houston
What Hurts The Most, Rascal Flatts
I'm Free, Kenny Loggins
Crazy, Gnarls Barkley
You May Be Right, Billy Joel

...and so on. How can you not love something that plays all of that stuff at any given time? And I didn't even make it through all of the stations. I need to buy one of these now. Damn car dealer!

_______________________________________

In other news, I went to a wedding on Sunday that was quite swanky. It was held at a local mansion that was used for some of the scenes in Meet Joe Black, and it was gorgeous.

The bride is a high school friend whom I haven't seen in years, but it was the perfect opportunity to see her again. We used to play tennis together a lot, and she is pretty much one of the nicest people I've ever known. Since I didn't think I'd know anyone there besides the bride, I brought my friend Joe to be my partner in crime, and we had a blast. (Especially when we both realized at the exact same moment that the cocktail reception musicians had launched into a rousing rendition of The Girl From Ipanema and we simultaneously turned to each other with equal WTF? looks on our faces.)

Of course, I made sure to document some of the best things, like the pull-chain toilet:

Joe after having a few (it was open bar):

The bride and groom:

Her pretty, pretty dress:

And the manic dancing guest:

Seriously, this guy was a dancing machine. I don't think he stopped the entire time. Check out that sweat! And check out his moves! (I needed video since I couldn't properly put that into words.)

Sadly, the BEST part of the wedding reception was the one I didn't document: The Dessert Room. Joe and I were outside when he got word that the cake was being served, so we headed in to have some, and when I asked a server where it was, she told me it was in "the dessert room." People, I need to get one of these rooms installed in my house immediately. We walked in to find this big long table filled with about 14 different kinds of cakes and pies. Then there were other desserts on another table, PLUS the wedding cake. I swear I heard the angels shout hosanna when I walked into the room. I ended up choosing this super-creamy Reese's peanut butter and chocolate chip pie that had a chocolate cookie crust. I'm salivating just thinking about it again. Must get dessert room. Wait - dessert room with satellite radio installed inside! I'D NEVER LEAVE.

And I lied - as wonderful and glorious as the dessert room was, it wasn't the best part of the reception. That was watching the groom, whom I met for the first time that night, spending the whole time with this look of awe on his face. He was so, so nice and I could just tell instantly that he was a perfect match for my friend. When we were leaving, I thanked him and offered my congratulations, and he looked at me like he still couldn't believe what was happening and said so sweetly, "I am the luckiest man in the world." Then he looked at my friend with this amazed look and it made my jaded and bitter heart melt a little bit - it's nice to see some people get it right sometimes. Congrats, my friend - you've got a keeper.

_______________________________________

After the sweetness of the wedding on Sunday, I switched to the down-home fun of a BBQ at my buddy Kevin's place on Tuesday. Nothing like a cookout complete with kiddie-pool cooler to make for a great day:

And it was a really fun day for me, but I'll just leave it at that for any other details. We'll just say that Kevin had a friend that I had never met before, and it turns out that girls, unlike those pesky boys, do make passes at guys who wear glasses. Anyway, moving on, some of the guys engaged in this dodgeball-type game with all kinds of convoluted rules, but the basic goal was this: both teams had a cardboard cut-out and the first team to knock the head off of the other team's cut-out (by using a Nerf football) won. It sounds ridiculous, but it looked pretty fun. It was all about the defense and strategy. Plus, one of the cut-outs in play was on Johnny Damon, who was referred to as "Judas" the whole time.

The other one? Leatherface. Ironically, he's the one who ended up without the head at the end.

But the real fun of the day was just relaxing and hanging out with some old friends who I don't get to see enough.

That's my friend Kevin, La Lucy and my new favorite t-shirt that I had gotten the day before. (And you know it had to be hot if I resorted to the shorts.)

Larry (standing) is a Billy Idol karaoke MASTER.

Eric, holding court.

And finally, my favorite picture of the day, Lucy in her new Ponch sunglasses:

I tried them on and could NOT pull them off at all. Why does she make them look so badass? Ponch!

_______________________________________

Finally, what's up Emmy voters? You try to butter me up with the Will Arnett and Office Christmas party episode nominations, but then you shiv me with all of the snubs. (Okay, so the Will Arnett thing was completely awesome, but still.) Are you trying to throw me a bone with House up for best drama? That's all well and good, but where the hell is Hugh Laurie? And would it kill you to watch an episode of Veronica Mars or The Gimore Girls so we can get some Kristen Bell and Lauren Graham up in the house? Sure, Gilmore Girls sucked most of the season, but Lauren Graham never did. Oh, and then one of the few Lost nominations goes to freakin' Desmond??!! Don't even get me started, brotha. For shame, Emmy voters, for shame.

before & after





2007-09-26 - Follow Me!
2006-09-30 - Site Move & Favorite Entries
2006-09-25 - Evil Easter Bunnies & Rock Climbing!
2006-09-22 - Shameful-Purchase Hiding & A New Dentist Plan
2006-09-19 - Birthday Picture/Video Diary & The Wheelmobile


Powered by blogtools.org


Copyright 2003-2006 by Sockgirlie. Stealing is wrong.


journal

info

contact

credits

linkytown