Everything's More Fun In Pigtails!
2006-02-12 || Talking Monkeys, Flailing Arms, Police Interrogations, & The Greatest Children's TV Show Of All Time

Weekend Fun:

* First, there�s this. Monk E-mail! My mom sent me one the other day and I�ve been loving the site ever since. I recommend the co-worker monkey with Simon�s voice and the urinal backdrop. Frito just got one with the monkey quoting lines from Trapped in the Closet. I think your day is complete when you get to see a computerized talking monkey saying, �I pulled back the cover, oh my God a rubber (rubber, rubber).� Brilliant.

* Then, there�s the mini-blizzard we had today, which kept me housebound, but I didn�t really mind as I had my new The Best of the Electric Company DVDs to watch. I only watched 2 episodes as I want to savor it over time like a fine wine. Others might think it a little sad how excited I got when Spider-Man came onscreen, but hey � I still maintain that this show is the reason I could read at such a young age. And come on, it�s Spider-Man, for crying out loud. The only thing that will make me even more excited is seeing the short cartoon about the girl who is being chased by a giant lollipop. I may need to go watch that right now. �Hey you guuuuuuuuuys!�

* Seeing as we were going to be trapped indoors today, Frito had me over yesterday to spend the day with him and the boys. After watching Hedwig and the Angry Inch and playing some board games, we broke out the Karaoke Revolution (I told you boys I was the East Coast champ!) and then Frito unleashed a game I�d never played before, called �Groove.� It�s a Playstation 2 dance game that uses an Eye-Toy camera, and the basic requirements of the game are that you move your arms to follow the faces and arrows on screen, all moving to the beat. Wow, that was a horrible explanation. You have to touch where the move-y things are going when they reach there? Nah, even worse. How about this: it�s basically Dance Dance Revolution with your arms. And anyone who knows me knows that I�m not really what you would call�a dancer. This game does not help to dispel that fact. In fact, it only reinforces it. I was failing before the songs were over, which was sad, because I never got to reach the mid-point of the song, where you get to Freestyle for a few seconds. The camera records the freestyling and at the end of your turn, you get to watch video playback of you getting down with your bad self. Since I never got to get to that point myself, T and I ended up just bogarting Frito�s freestyle ops, so the video would start off with Frito dancing and then you�d see us jump up in the background and start boogieing all over the place. It was hilarious. Did I mention that the TV we were using to play this game is set up so you�re standing in front of a huge picture window that faces the street? Oh yes, anyone driving by would get to look up and see me flailing my arms around like a maniac. Canada went outside for a few minutes and when he came back in, hereported that we did, in fact, look like morons. I can�t wait to get my brother to play that game.

* Finally, my mother greeted me yesterday with some words you really don�t want to hear on a Saturday (or any) morning, �A detective from the [so and so] police department called you. His number is downstairs.� Immediately, I was all, �What did I do? Wait, no � I stayed in last night watching Arrested Development. Okay, what did Lucy do?� Thankfully, my mother eased my mind a few minutes later when she told me that the detective was calling about my friend who is applying to be a police officer in that city. I�m listed as one of his references, so the detective was calling to ask about him. After calling him back, I realized that I don�t think I ever want to be involved in any matters where I would have to be questioned by the police afterwards, because it was crazy. (Well, except for that one time when the police showed up to a playground where I was hanging out with a boy because someone had broken into the school there, and he asked if we saw anyone running by. When he was done, I asked the guy to shine his flashlight in my face, and he did, and it was totally fun.) Anyway, back to the phone questioning - I didn�t even do anything wrong, and this guy had me stressed and sweating like a pig. He was just firing question after question at me like I was in an interrogation room - all I needed was the light in my face. I would NOT be a good criminal at all, because I would have told this guy anything. The more he went on, the more nerve-wracking it got. Oh, this guy was good. "How old is his son? Where did he get married? Where did he work when you met him? Where did you hide the body?� Okay, he didn�t ask that last one, but I probably would have answered it. So I guess it�s only the straight and narrow for me from now on. That�s a damn shame. All of my...my...criminal...uh, plans up in smoke! I�ll just have to spend my time sending out Monk E-mails.


before & after





2007-09-26 - Follow Me!
2006-09-30 - Site Move & Favorite Entries
2006-09-25 - Evil Easter Bunnies & Rock Climbing!
2006-09-22 - Shameful-Purchase Hiding & A New Dentist Plan
2006-09-19 - Birthday Picture/Video Diary & The Wheelmobile


Powered by blogtools.org


Copyright 2003-2006 by Sockgirlie. Stealing is wrong.


journal

info

contact

credits

linkytown