Everything's More Fun In Pigtails!
2005-02-14 || Wigging Out Over First Impressions - Oh, And Some Chicken Dance LOVE
Someone at Fox likes me.

Someone at Fox.com LOVES me.

I know my love for Gob�s chicken dance on Arrested Development has been mentioned here many a time, as well as my penchant for re-enacting it in public and in the privacy of my own home, but I must make one more mention of it. Last night was the greatest one EVER. I started getting a little excited when Lindsay broke out her own chicken impression, and then when Gob stepped on screen, I knew he was going to do it. Oh, and how glorious it was. And then to make my love for the chicken dance all the more special this Valentine�s Day, Fox has put that particular scene up as a video clip on its website here. (Look under videos, interview/video clips #21 � Episode 210) Ah, there is nothing greater than the sweet, sweet love between me and Gob�s chicken dance. Happy Valentine�s Day, indeed.

********************

All last week I looked forward to sleeping in on Saturday morning and then spending most of the day relaxing and catching up on magazines and TV. It was all going so well until the phone rang at 12:15, interrupting my delicious breakfast of Cap�n Crunch.

PAM: Hello?

DAD: It�s me. We need you to come to Grandma�s house. We locked the keys in the car and it�s running. (MOM in background: Give me that.)

MOM: Hello? Don�t think I had anything to do with this. I don�t know what�s with all of this �we� stuff. I swear your father is getting worse every day. Can you please come with the extra set of keys?

PAM: (crunch, crunch) Can you give me ten minutes?

MOM: Can�t you come now? I�m afraid he�s going to run out of gas. The car is RUNNING, you know. Your father is a moron. Just throw on a sweatshirt or something.

PAM: I�m dressed, but my hair is soaking wet and in a towel.

MOM: Well, just put on a hat or something. Please?

PAM: (inside head: Shit. A hat? What the hell kind of hat would I put on? I can�t wear a little winter hat, that will just look stupid with all that wet hair sticking out. A baseball hat? I haven�t worn a baseball hat in years. Oh God, what if I get pulled over or get in an accident with a really cute guy and I�m wearing a baseball hat? I can�t pull off the baseball hat look. Shit! What other hats are there? A tam? I don�t own a tam. Nay on the beret as well. Shit!) Um�okay.

MOM: THANK you. I can�t believe he did this in front of your grandmother. Hurry!

I hung up and went upstairs, still trying to think of what kind of hat I could wear. But then I saw it�I reconsidered for about a half a second but then shouted, �Screw it� and threw it on my head, running out the door as I went.

I put on a wig.

Yes, a wig. Sidney Bristow, eat your heart out. I actually felt like an undercover super-spy as I made my way down the narrow streets to the alleys around my grandmother�s house of terror and intrigue. Would I make it in time before the bomb detonated? Okay, fine � I took the highway to my grandmother�s house in the suburbs, trying to get there before my father�s car ran out of gas. But it sounded so much better the first way. And that�s really the way you think when wearing a wig. Well, at least it�s the way I think. It�s bizarre, because I become hyper-aware that I am wearing a wig. I don�t know how people can do it every day. Does Dolly Parton skulk around like a spy all of the time? Does Cher have a killer roundhouse kick? Can Eva Gabor explain the whole Rambaldi thing? And shouldn�t I be more concerned with the fact that I even own a wig? It�s not a novelty wig, either. It�s a bona fide real wig. And I wish it weren�t ridiculous for me to wear it, because it does things that my fine hair would never dream of doing for me. I bought it impulsively years ago when I had black hair. Dyed black hair is evil. Sure, it�s fun for a while, but just try changing it. You can�t dye over it and no one would strip it for me, so I had to grow it out. But I REALLY wanted auburn hair, so I just said, �Hey, I�ll buy a wig.� Yeah, I don�t know why my mind works the way it does most days either. But that�s just what I did. And it was awesome and all, but I couldn�t just show up to work in it the next day because, well, frankly, I�d make fun of someone who randomly showed up to work in a wig for no reason. So I just took to wearing it out to places where people didn�t really know me, but the whole time I had the hyper-aware thing going on. Also? A little itchy after an hour or two. I ended up just using it in plays after that:

Well, and now for super-secret missions and harried trips to grandma�s house. Watch out for MY roundhouse kick!

********************

Over the weekend, I was talking to two people about their first impressions of me, and it was quite amusing. Brent thought I was a �crazy weirdo.� When I asked him why, he said, �Our first conversation was �How old are you? 23.. how old are you?� �Old.� That was it. Crazy weirdo." Yeah, I did ask him that and then walk away, but I came back. My friend Rachel said that she thought I was quiet � then she added a �HA!� now that we�ve been friends for 8 1/2 years. I remember one of my friends in high school saying that she used to think to herself during class, �Who is this crazy girl?� It�s just interesting to hear how you come off. People at work thought I was quiet and shy. Hee! Anyone out there who has met me, hit up the comments and let me know what you thought. Should I be scared?

I hope it�s not �Who is that nutjob in the wig?�


before & after





2007-09-26 - Follow Me!
2006-09-30 - Site Move & Favorite Entries
2006-09-25 - Evil Easter Bunnies & Rock Climbing!
2006-09-22 - Shameful-Purchase Hiding & A New Dentist Plan
2006-09-19 - Birthday Picture/Video Diary & The Wheelmobile


Powered by blogtools.org


Copyright 2003-2006 by Sockgirlie. Stealing is wrong.


journal

info

contact

credits

linkytown