Everything's More Fun In Pigtails!
2005-03-09 || Billy Gilman, Part Deux

Just a short one today, as I�ve been sidelined with a bit of a flu-like thing. But I did make it out of the house on Sunday to attend a charity event to benefit Muscular Dystrophy. The reason for going? The title of the event: �Billy Gilman Presents a Musical Night of Songs.� That would be opposed to a musical night of what, tae-kwan-do? Anyway, if you don�t know who Billy Gilman is, you can check out his site here. If you don�t know my history with The Gilman, you can read all about it here. Basically, the short story explanation is that he is a local boy who was a big country star a few years ago when he was 13 and now he�s 16 and trying to make a comeback with his new manly voice. Back when he was 13, he released a Christmas album which included a song called Warm & Fuzzy, which would get into your head and not leave for days. The song rocks, actually. And if you don�t believe me that the song is like the beast in its catchiness, ask Shelly. I foisted it upon her a couple of years ago and she has been cursing me every since.

ANYway � Jerry had met Billy a few years ago and since we are diehard followers of all things absurd, we knew we had to go to this event when we heard about it. It was Billy singing as well as his manager, her daughter and grandson, and some random guy. (If you like exaggeration with a heavy sprinkling of hyperbole sauce, you can read the review of the show from a local paper here.) The article neglects to mention the fact that we were there for FIVE HOURS. I thought cocktail hours were only supposed to last, you know, AN HOUR. In any case, the show was very Vegas-y and showy and the people could sing, so it wasn�t like it was horrifying. Oh, and then there was Billy. He moonwalked at one point. No, really. He also threw in a kick in the air that I took as a shout-out to me and my friends. He was all pointy and smiley and jazz hands, and he actually sounded pretty good. But what would an event that Jerry and I attend together be without a little embarrassment and absurdity thrown in? Proof that you can�t take me anywhere:

1. During a quiet moment between songs, I yelled out �WARM & FUZZY!!!!� like I was shouting, �Play Freebird!� Billy giggled and said, �Warm & Fuzzy? Oh, it�s a little early for that. I wonder if I can even still sing that one,� and then he tried to recreate the high notes from his pre-pubescent days of yore. The whole time this was happening, Jerry�s head was on the table. But come on, when am I going to get a chance to do that again? I wanted my Warm & Fuzzy!

2. Billy sang a medley of all kinds of songs, and while one song was segueing into the next, there was a brief lull while the opening strains of American Pie started up. I just blurted out, �Oh, I HATE this,� without realizing how loudly I was saying it. I received about 8 head-turns and scowls from various �Billyheads� around me. Sorry, Billyheads, that song is just a big ball of hate for me. Once again, though, Jerry�s head was on the table.

3. The piece de resistance: Billy and my sock monkey �

Don�t even ask.

I kind of love the cheesiness of Billy now. He may rock my cheesy world. Or maybe that�s my fever talking. I should probably check that out. Catch you all on the other side of sickdom!


before & after





2007-09-26 - Follow Me!
2006-09-30 - Site Move & Favorite Entries
2006-09-25 - Evil Easter Bunnies & Rock Climbing!
2006-09-22 - Shameful-Purchase Hiding & A New Dentist Plan
2006-09-19 - Birthday Picture/Video Diary & The Wheelmobile


Powered by blogtools.org


Copyright 2003-2006 by Sockgirlie. Stealing is wrong.


journal

info

contact

credits

linkytown