Everything's More Fun In Pigtails!
2004-12-19 || Boobs, Bombs, Billie Joe & A Little Thing Called Jhumka Gira Re

Some things that are making me smile this weekend:

1) My newly dark red hair. I prefer to call it "Cherry Cola." My mom said it wasn't too noticeable, but gave my hair some "zip":

The other good thing that I forgot about the red hair is that it makes my eye color pop. Brent, for the last time, they're blue!

Blue? Blue-gray? Same difference. All I know is they're not green. Anyway, moving on....

2) The new Green Day video. God, Billie Joe looks HOT. I think he may be one of my longest-running Celebrity Boyfriends. We started dating the first time I saw the video for Basket Case, and we've been going steady ever since. I think he's looking the best he ever has these days. I told my mom this the other day and pointed out that he is the epitome of my type: musician, scrawny, looks a little dirty, chain attached to his wallet, and wears eyeliner. Her response? "Ugh!" Yep.

3) The episode of Mystery Science Theater 3000 featuring Santa Claus Conquers the Martians. Lucy got me the DVD for Christmas. Oh, so funny. And I had completely forgotten that Joel Hodgson was one of my Celebrity Boyfriends back in the day. I'm also a big Crow fan. "Crooooooow!"

4) The weird guy who works at the movie theater. - There's this odd ticket-taker at my local theater who has been there for years. Since my brother and I go almost every week, we see him a lot. There are two different hallways with theaters and two different ticket-takers, so we don't see him every time, but we see him enough. And he always stares at me, but never looks at my brother. When The Ring came out, he warned us when ripping our tickets, "It's really scaaaary." Yesterday he decided we were his friends and tried to engage us in conversation:

Weird Movie Guy (WMG): Hello. How are you two today?

Pam: Good.

WMG (to brother): Have you seen LaSalette (local Catholic shrine with Christmas lights and scenes)

Bro: What? (beat) Oh, the lights?

WMG: Yeeeaaaah.

Bro: No.

WMG: They're really preeeeeeetty.

Bro: Oh. I'll have to go. (flees)

I headed into the bathroom at this point, and when I came out, WMG was talking to a co-worker, and all I heard him say as I was heading into the theater was the word "LaSalette." I told my brother we should have picked him up on our way out and brought him there.

P.S. Spanglish was good.

5) A guy who has seen my boobs quoting Seinfeld and saying that they were "spectacular." C'mon, who isn't going to smile upon hearing something like that?

6) Sex Bomb, by Tom Jones. - The lovely Jessica sent me an awesome mix CD with this song on it. When I was out with Lucy the other night, I popped it into the CD player in her car and we just laughed and laughed and laughed. Then Lucy started getting disturbed by it. "This is so wrong! It feels dirty!" Then she started liking it. I told her to succumb to it. Give in to the Jones! Then we started car dancing, and then came the sing-along. We do a mean Tom Jones. And thank you, Jessica. You rock, girl.

7) Santosh at Dell and Joe at Microsoft. - I spent an hour on the phone with each of these guys and they both were able to solve 2 separate problems and get my computer up and running perfectly. Bless you, Joe and...Santosh. (Even though I disagree with the outsourcing of jobs to India, he did know his stuff) Speaking of which, Santosh reminded me of...

8) Jhumka Gira Re - Oh my Lord, this is one of the best songs EVER. When I was 15 my dad used to take me and my friends to empty parking lots to let us drive around. He used to work with a guy who came from India, and one weekend they had swapped cars for some reason. Well, he took us driving in this guy's truck, and while my friend was driving I started rifling through the glove compartment looking for some tunes. That is where I unearthed the glory that is Jhumka Gira Re. It is this frantic Indian song that...I don't even know how to describe it. There are no words. It is just completely AWESOME. We tooled around in that truck with it blaring, speeding up when it got really fast and slowing down during the mournful parts. I taped it when I got home and shared it with my friend Liz, who fell in love at first listen. There are still countless videotapes in my closet featuring me and my friends dancing and lip-synching to the song. To this day, I can still remember most of it. Liz used to put it on any mix tapes that she made for people (ah, the good old days of the mix tape) and a few years ago when Napster came out, she called me to tell me that she had downloaded it. She still writes "Jhumka!" in most of the cards she sends me. Our one disappointment with the song came one day when I was at my hairdresser. Her coworker was from India, so I asked her about the song. She loved it, and told me that the title meant "Long, dangling earring." We were quite dismayed by this information, as it sounds like a song about longing and heartbreak, not some woman and her earring. We just pretended we never got that information and went on with our love. Anyway, after talking to Santosh and one of his coworkers the other day, I felt the need to find one of my copies of the song. I popped it in and from the opening strains, the glory of it all came rushing back. I found myself involuntarily prancing around my room. Jhumka Gira Re, indeed. Love, not earrings!!

And now I feel like I need to go make that t-shirt. "Love, not earrings!"


before & after





2007-09-26 - Follow Me!
2006-09-30 - Site Move & Favorite Entries
2006-09-25 - Evil Easter Bunnies & Rock Climbing!
2006-09-22 - Shameful-Purchase Hiding & A New Dentist Plan
2006-09-19 - Birthday Picture/Video Diary & The Wheelmobile


Powered by blogtools.org


Copyright 2003-2006 by Sockgirlie. Stealing is wrong.


journal

info

contact

credits

linkytown